My Quarantine Story

in #quarantinelife4 years ago (edited)

image.png

I hope I'm not too late to the party, but I thought to join @theycallmedan challenge about the current world situation.

I'm self isolating since March 11th, in my small apartment in Valencia, Spain. Since March 14th, there is a quarantine in place, so we can only get out for basic necessities. The decision to self-isolate was taken in order to prevent infection of other people, I didn't have any symptoms.

I know personally a couple of people who had Covid19 and recovered, with various degrees of difficulty. For one, it took a week in the hospital, with serious flu symptoms. The other chose to "walk it off", and it took 2 weeks to fully recover, but he was very weak after that. I don't know personally anyone who had it and didn't recovered.

I only got out twice so far, for groceries. Every time it was very eerie. Valencia streets are usually full with people, buzzing with laughter and conversations. I hardly saw anyone each time I got out. Inside the grocery shop, it was even eerier. There was a queue at the entrance, and just a limited number of people were allowed inside. It was silent and empty and people avoided each other on the aisles.

The biggest challenge for me was the drastic reduction on body movement. I'm an ultra-runner and I usually do at least 15km every day. Going from this amount of running / walking to a complete stop was shocking. One day I got out on the roof and started to run in a 15 meters lap, but after 5km, the neighbor from below came up and told me he can hear every step, so I stopped. If he didn't come, I would probably go for the marathon, that's how eager I was. For the last week I switched to a combination of HIIT and normal fitness and so for it seems to work reasonably well.

I still have my main job, I work remote as a programmer, and my company is still in business. But since this occupies just a small part of my life, I also started to learn to play the guitar. My fingers are hurting and I'm only one week into it, but it's something that I want to pursue.

In the beginning, the whole stopping of the world seemed ok, but the longer it continues, the stranger it feels. I tend more and more to believe that the entire reaction to this pandemic is blown out of proportion, at best, or just plain stupid, an attempt to enforce a more powerful surveillance state. I still wait to see how / if this will end, in order to have a clearer, better opinion about this.


I'm a geek, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created hive.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your HIVE rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Was "social distancing" happening in the queue to get in? Otherwise limiting the number of people inside seems kinda pointless XD

Do you have travel restrictions? Is it possible for you to drive out to some middle of nowhere to go for your runs?

I remember guitar hurting at first XD Same with anything else, don't push too much past hurting :)

tend more and more to believe that the entire reaction to this pandemic is blown out of proportion, at best, or just plain stupid, an attempt to enforce a more powerful surveillance state.

That's my current favourite conspiracy theory XD

Was "social distancing" happening in the queue to get in?

Of course, we had at least 2 meters between us. There was also hands disinfectant at the entry.

Yeah, guitar seems to be a bit more painful than I thought, lol.

As for conspiracies, I don't think this is conspiracy. It's in plain sight, not hidden.

In the beginning, the whole stopping of the world seemed ok, but the longer it continues, the stranger it feels. I tend more and more to believe that the entire reaction to this pandemic is blown out of proportion, at best, or just plain stupid, an attempt to enforce a more powerful surveillance state.

Subscribe 100%. In Romania it feels like we're having some war being played against us. The cops are only focused on the papers and staying inside as much as possible, they refuse to use logic. If I for example have no contact with anyone else I can theoretically stay outside for ten hours, and contact or spread no virus at all. Moreover today there was a filter with three policemen and four military employees stopping cars and even filming and taking pics. The whole thing smells more like controlling the population and taking their attention away from something rather than the virus itself. I managed to get out everyday at least to walk and it still feels awful...

You're lucky you can get out for a walk. I have a hunch that this will be over rather sooner than later.

I have changed all the strings of my guitar as well and playing it more often with the children around 😂

Yeap, there are quite a few good things in this pandemic too.

Our prayers for Spain, Italy, and other countries hardly hit by this virus. We shall overcome.

Thanks, appreciate your kind thoughts.

I am in the US and been self isolating since first week of March. I dust off the WiiU and played Wii Fit with the kids. Father and kids bonding time.

I also have only gone out a handful of times and each time do what I needed to do and went home. Social distancing is very different from the norm but may likely be hear to stay for months.

Bonding time is good. I don't think it will be for months. But let's wait and see.

Its tough time to control over self and maintain quarantined to prevent corona spreading, but together we can do it. Your activities is also appreciated and inspiration for all hivers.

Thanks for your nice words, appreciate it!