My Quarantine Story

in #quarantinelife4 years ago


IMG-20200402-WA0001.jpg

The dogs acting fucking weird today. Here in France we have been in quarantine for two weeks now and they recently extended it until April 15th.

Maybe he always behaves like this and I'm only now noticing it because I'm home all day?

"What are you going to do today?"

"Well I thought I would just stare at the wall for a few hours."


Some people handle quarantines better than others I suppose.

The trick to not letting the isolation and boredom get to you is to find a routine and new things to do to occupy your time. Or maybe you just spend a little longer doing the things you would normally do while in a rush. Spend an extra few moments enjoying your coffee or being mindful when you cook a meal or go for a walk.

But I'm no expert on such things.
I'm a homebody to begin with so being at home isn't all that difficult for me.

We always downplay the challenges of others when things comes naturally to us. Quarantine is easy for me therefore it must be easy for everyone.

Such thinking is a fallibility.

Quarantine really has been quite easy for me though.
I go for walks with the dog. I'm reading the book Sapiens by Yuval Harari and I've started analyzing films again and making posts on them.

Finding new creative ways of doing the things that I would normally be doing has been helpful as well.

I have been poaching my eggs for breakfast instead of cooking them sunny side up as I usually do. It takes a little longer but I've found that poaching an egg really makes breakfast special in a way. Its much fancier.

20200331_093828.jpg

20200328_093220.jpg


I don't drink alcohol very often.

Actually that's not true. I drink quite frequently but in relatively small amounts. I have a beer or glass of wine a few nights per week. Sometimes I'll have two if I'm feeling... wild...ha and if I don't really feel like having a good night sleep.

"I know this second drink is going to make me sleep like shit but right now I don't care."


My cousin once told me that that was my problem. He told me

"You need to drink enough to just pass out."


This method has problems of its own though.

During the quarantine I have also been experimenting with a few drinks and have come up with one that's really quite delicious. It has a summery character about it and I'm calling it my drink of the 2020 quarantine.

I've also referred to it as a pink Ginny 1) because it is made with pink gin and 2) because I like to use Harry Potter references whenever possible.

20200329_152104.jpg

Ingredients: Pink gin, fresh squeezed grapefruit juice from half a grapefruit, two crushed strawberries, egg white, a splash of sparkling water and pink peppercorns as a garnish.

You might be asking yourself, are the pink peppercorns really necessary? The answer is YES!!! They are very necessary. They are actually what the entire drink is based around. Crushed peppercorns have become my favorite "spice of life," in recent times. I use it in all my cooking and have even basically tried to replace salt with it.

Crush those little fuckers up in a mortar and pestle and sprinkle them on top. You wont be disappointed.

The egg white creates the froth on top so it is also necessary. I'm told that the citrus in the grapefruit actually cooks the egg white in the same way that it cooks raw fish. If that's not true I don't really care though. I would do I anyway.

Put the Gin, grapefruit, strawberries into a martini shaker and shake the crap out of it. Then add ice and shake some more. Pour the mixture into a glass, add a splash of sparkling water and garnish with a strawberry and the freshly crushed peppercorns.

It can be your drink of the 2020 quarantine as well.

20200329_165246.jpg

I made another version of the drink without the frothy egg whites. I served it on ice and used cut strawberries as a garnish. Its not as fancy and not as good but its still quite refreshing.

So these are the ways that I've been keeping busy and entertained during my quarantine.

The last thing I want to do at a time like this is stare at a wall.

IMG20200402WA0001.jpg

Thanks for Reading

Sort:  

I think he simply likes the warmth of the sun on his back. Or he got into your supply of gin and is spacing out. You tell me.

Bon couvre-feu mon ami :-)

You are probably right about the sun or he was just smelling something on the wall. He didnt do it for very long I just thought it was a funny picture.

Merci. Vous aussi :)

Yup, funny for sure.