You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it Lame to upovote yourself ??

in #question4 years ago

Short answer, absolutely yes it is not good. It shows a greed that will get you flagged if it gets to be big enough. It has some exceptions but for the most part this is how many see it.

Sort:  

So not true!

In what way? Most of the self voters I know get a lot of flak for it. I have found some that seem to have skirted that a bit but I don't know for how long.

I don´t know anybody who downvotes self votes, also never happened to me, and I post a lot.

Wow. I never thought about self-votes that way. Has anyone ever flagged you or whined about it? Is there any official guidance that says you can't do it?

Never. No.
In contrast. Is there any reason to NOT self-vote? If you are not believing that what you wrote deserves a 100% upvote, why should others do?

The only exception is, if you e.g. just post a question, or the post took 3 minutes to produce. In that case I would restrain from self-voting.

Wow. Again I never thought of it that way. Since I joined I always read the opposite. Then again, This is a big place. Thanks for clearing my confusion.