Just writing

in #rambling3 years ago

Something that I have been thinking about lately is writing and reading. With the committments that I have in my life right now I don't have a lot of time for either.

I used to enjoy writing, taking the time to journal my thoughts into a notebook, to find them years later and reflect on how I was feeling and thinking back then. Usually realizing how far I have come with regards to the sophistication of my thinking.

I used to read at least two books every month, depending on my work schedule maybe 5 or six. Today I'm luck if I can get through an ebook in 21 days from the library. My time is such that if I'm working I need to concentrate on that, and if I'm not at my desk my family commitments and adulting take the rest of my time. The only time that I have in more than a 15min chunk is just before going to sleep, the worse time to read something interesting, so I read fun "junk". Books that are enjoyable but essentially candy.

More time writing

"They" say that people spend time where their values lie, and its true. One of the best ways to change your habits naturally is to change your own self-image. And example is if you want to be a fit person, you don't think of your self as a un-fit person wanting to be fit, you flip your thoughts through practice to say that YOU ARE a fit person. By doing this you start to automatically make the decisions that a fit person, the person that you visualize as the best version of you, would make.

Its faking it till you make it.

The problem with that, and my life right now, is that I AM spending the time where my values lie, with my family. Supporting them as much as I can through my work and presence. The challenge I have today (and this week) is that I want more.

Where hive comes in

So, rather than writing in a journal, I'm going to write here, without editing. Basically I'm going to take 5 minutes or so and rant on my blog here about something that I'm thinking about at the momemnt. I'm not going to go back and edit it at all. Some days it will be great, but I suspect that most days it will be a rambling mess.

If you want to join me on this journey, hit the follow button. If I write something that you think is "good" reblog.

Cheers,
NL