Love Island UK Season 5

in #reality3 years ago (edited)

Love island.jpg

Ok ok hear me out here. Have you ever heard the expression "It's like watching a trainwreck"? That perfectly describes how I feel about this series.

I have only watched season five because my friend was watching and I joined for an episode. One thing led to another and somehow I was still glued to the TV 60 episodes later screaming in a British accent about the results.

The amount of weird British slang I have picked up is indescribable, but I found myself laughing through these episodes nightly and it was a great time.

Where To Watch?

This show is available on Hulu!

What Is The Show About?

love island 2.jfif

This is a reality TV sh*tshow about a group of singles who are put into a luxury villa in Mallorca Spain with the goal of finding love. The couple that makes it all the way to the end of the season and is voted the winning couple takes away 50,000 pounds in prize money.

The voting on the show is a mix of a public vote for their favorite couple mixed in with some drama when the couples are sometimes forced to vote one of the other couples off the island.

Though the season starts with just 12 people (six couples), the season cycles through 36 different cast members with all the different dumpings and plot twist. One guy was even ejected from season 5 for violating some kind of clause in the terms and agreements of the show.

They have challenges sprinkled throughout the episodes to cause drama and it seems like almost nobody on the island can make up their mind as to who they are into romantically.

Watching this reminded me of middle school is some convoluted way, but once again it was an absolutely hilarious experience. The cast did a fantastic job at dramatizing things and the narrator Ian Sterling was hilariously ironic with making fun of them.

Why Watch?

This is difficult for me to describe. I was of the mindset that watching reality shows like this was a waste of time... It actually may be a huge waste of time. BUT it is wildly entertaining as this subset of human beings have a penchant for blowing situations up to catastrophic levels and keeping the audience engaged at all times.

It was incredible to me the types of situations that created drama here. You could see how some of it was gamesmanship in an attempt to get to the final and secure the cash prize, but it was still so fun to watch. I don't want to spoil anything, but if you imagine the most absurd things you could possibly get yourself mad about, these people will make you look rational and cool headed in comparison.

My Ratings

Intelligence of content: -5/10
Addictiveness of content: 10/10
Drama: 10/10
Comedy: 10/10
Overall rating: 9/10, no spoilers but things were a bit anticlimactic in the end for such a wild season

Fair warning you may feel dumber as a result of watching this show. At the end of the day though, it is genuinely good entertainment regardless of how dumb it may be! Hope you enjoy if you watch it!

Leo author banner.jfif

@mariosfame gif once again, I love it

Leo Gif.gif

Links and Connections:
Follow me on Twitter: Rob_Minnick23
LeoFinance/HIVE : rob23
Join me on Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=robminnick23
Join Cake DeFi and get $30 in $DFI as a new user: https://pool.cakedefi.com/#?ref=187314
Noise.cash: rob23
Read.cash: R23
Join me on Publish0x: https://www.publish0x.com/?a=M7e587xqd2

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a college student doing my best to get involved in the crypto world. I have enjoyed blogging thus far and thank you for reading my article! Give me a follow and let’s build the community together through consistent engagement.

Sort:  

Really difficult topic to nail down but you have done a really great job.