Working with the Black Soldier Fly (BSF)

in #recycling3 years ago

Prelude to my new insect world

It is amazing how life twists and turns.
After all of my comings and goings, I find myself drawn to those simple pleasures of my youth.
The parts of me that I considered childish are the parts of me that shine the brightest now.

Loving ants as a kid, the enjoyment of working in industrial environments and keeping life a bit simpler.
Is this the lesson to be learnt. The, "follow your dreams", kind of pitch.
Maybe, or more like, this is fun - let's do more of that.

After my redundancy, I felt a little be lost. Every job advert relating to my previous role just gave me a fuzzy sort of PTSD, with pain in my neck at the thought of dealing in a toxic environment.
My Entrepreneur zest was sort of there, but sort of not, and Covid cemeted the fact that establishing anything was not possible - mainly due to my lack of motivation or idea formulation.

Black Soldier Fly (common acronym BSF & BSFL)

Hermetia illucens is a very well researched insect in the recycling/insect protein world.
I'd actually not know about it apart from the awesome information provided by https://thelittlewormfarm.com/en#intro from our own @quochuy.

image.png

The Black Soldier Fly is a fly that looks like a wasp, can't fly for shit and has a 40-odd day life cycle.
The eggs are laid in abundance (200-1000/fly) and is used to break down waste streams into organic compost. The larvae can be used as a hyperallergenic protein source which is really good for petfood. It has a high protein content (40%) and calcium source (2%) with the balance made up of fats/oils.
Their chitin (body shell or "ash" component) is great for soil and can act as a biofoul to deter other pests.
The oil of the BSFL can be used in biopharmaceutical applications and a versatile protein ingredient.

The larvae is resilient, grow rapidly, eats all sorts of shit, including shit, and don't spread disease.
Normal flies contaminate because of landing on things & eating. Whereas, the BSF only sips sweet water in adult stage & doesn't eat. This makes them ideal for larger scale rearing.

So, be prepared to see more of the BSF in your Recycling Programs & store shelves.

image.png
(Random Google image search)

A viable system to create a loop in our recycling. Food waste can be broken down into Frass which contains Potassium & Nitrate!

Phosphate

Did you know that Phosphate is mined? It is a scarce resource.
Agriculture relies on it, and yet, much of it runs into our rivers and oceans, making it a single use resource.
https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/sep/06/phosphate-fertiliser-crisis-threatens-world-food-supply

"Researchers say humanity could only produce half the food it does without phosphate and nitrogen, though the latter is essentially limitless as it makes up almost 80% of the atmosphere."
(from above article link)

Another benefit of utilising BSF is to reclaim Phosphate from our food waste.

Repurpose

I like the idea of recycling food waste. I like working with insects. I like that I don't sit behind a desk all day anymore, working for greedy fucks pushing product.

It feels good to repurpose myself, to repurpose waste, for a good purpose.

image.png
(Source unknown - sent to me on a msg app from a friend).

Sort:  

Hah, you've found my website :-D
I've also provided a little free intro PDF: https://thelittlewormfarm.com/e/bsf-intro
With link to more some more detailed PDF inside :-)

Thanks @quochoy I read a heap of your stuff when I first did worm farming. Also, you gave me a heads up on what that "blue coloured worm" was 🙏🙏
I'm the guy who sent that news link to you on Facebook by the way 🌞🌞

Congratulations @jagged! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 145000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 150000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!