That time my post was trending on Reddit... and still got removed

in #reddit2 years ago (edited)

Reddit is a joke man, but I still managed to get the hold of it after less than a week posting there.

I had 20 karma three days ago, I have more than 800 right now.

The reason I wanted to grow my karma was not for personal reasons, but to be able to publish on highly moderated subreddits such as r/cryptocurrency and /rdegendefi among many others. These subreddits host most of the people I actually want to reach with my publications about Hive, Leo Finance, Polycub and crypto in general. I tried to grow my karma by participating in conversations by making helpful and insightful comments in subreddits that spoke about finance and crypto, but I wasn't able to grow my karma. Then only after @niallon11 suggested that I should engage in the r/askreddit, and after reading a few posts published in that subreddit, was when I realized that getting that precious karma wouldn't be that hard after all, all you need is to post things that people will like but at the same time be interesting enough so people engage with the conversation...

So basically, be a bootlicker. It's not like on Hive or Leo that you can write about whatever the fuck you want and like, and see if anybody cares or likes it, and if not, well, fuck them, everyone continues with their happy life and that's it.

But on Reddit, things are different, most people engage with others seeking to get karma in return, so everything is politically correct, inclusive, likeable and every other positive feature you might think of, because well, reddit is supposed to be a sAFe SpAcE yOu biGgoT

Anyway, after making a few comments and realizing how easy it is to farm karma when you know what people want to hear and you can actually do it in a funny way, I figured it was time to make a few posts every couple of hours, eventually one of them would take off and, just like those posts trending on /askreddit - which by the way, has 36M subs - and I would get at least a couple hundred Karma.

If you can get away unpunished for one crime, what would you do?

That was the title of the post, and it had no body, it was literally just that.

That's not even grammatically correct, I wrote that while sending a fax - Mexican slang for going to be bathroom, number 2, for those who are catholic -
and still being half asleep.

It took a few hours for it to trend and to for my email to start spamming me, because like the rookie I am, I didn't deactivate email notifications, my post was trending. I have no idea how much time it takes someone to make a post that manages to explode but, three days into redditing is not that bad.

image

6 hours in, and I was the #8 post on /askreddit, a community with hundreds of new posts every hour, and it seemed like I was on my way to be top3 or something, but I wasn't so sure because it seemed like some of these posts either have bot armies voting for them, or they are part of some secret society that makes posts trend, or something around those lines, you know reddit can be - and if you don't well, don't doubt for a second that is is corrupt and dirty to the bones.

Parentheses: I mean, look at this, look how easy it is to game the point system they have over there. A simple answer that I knew would get enough attention, interest the user and be relatable. I don't even watch series unless it's with my girlfriend, and when I do it's to spend time with her, not because I care about muh media. But a reply like this one is going to get pinkies, rest assured.

image

Anyway, where was I?

Oh yeah, 7 hours later, 730+ comments, 430 upvotes and more than 15k impressions, my post got removed.

image

Yep, only until it got trending, my post got removed.

Which makes me wonder if it was the mods who used a bullshit excuse to remove my post so a user with 50 karma didn't get 10k karma in the span of 24 hours, maybe out of jealousy, or perhaps because of gatekeeping, but I knew there was something fishy.

Reddit is a stupidly, exaggeratedly moderated community, and power-hungry losers usually are in charge of the moderation of these subreddits... and if you don't believe, just duckduckgo "reddit mods" and see for yourself all the memes.

image

image

image

But hey, I got enough karma to do my own thing now. With 800+ karma I am able to do anything I want in the subreddits I actually care about, I don't mind getting my post removed because I don't really care about internet magic beans - at least from that website, because hive magic beans are different.

But I was still a tad curious, I wanted to see for what bullshit reason my post got removed when it was going straight to the moon. A worthless, kinda gay moon, but still, a moon. So I messaged the mods thinking I wouldn't get a reply, but I had to at least try, right?

Curiously, I got a reply pretty soon:

image

But like, come on. This is a community with dozens of mods, and surely they saw my post before it got removed. Which leads me to think that my reasoning was correct: An unpopular, new user can't be allowed to be trending, especially with such little karma, he must work his way up, there's no scenario where this user get's what he deserves with little to no effort, it took me 6 months to have a trending post, no sir, not on my watch... or at least that how I imagine the soyboy neckbeard who removed my post.

Don't get the wrong idea, I'm not mad even if I use offensive terms or insult the website and the moderators there, I am actually just being descriptive. I have always hated Reddit and I will not stop now, but something had to be said about this crappy social media.

Anyway, thank God I have Hive and Leo Finance to roam around freely, because if I only had Reddit to read around and post every now and then, I think I would've already developed cancer just by interacting with the people there.

Sort:  

The amount of subreddits I'm getting banned from lately for vaguely even mentioning crypto is hilarious.

Makes me think of the time I got banned from r/pcmasterrace (or was it r/gaming) for discussing how miners have started using their GPU's to mine ETH (when it had just launched) and everyone hated on me in the thread only years later to start crying about how they can't afford a GPU or even get one cause all the miners have bought them en masse. If only some of them had started mining a little instead of hating in 2014 :p

It’s just hilarious at this point. Reddit sells itself as a free speech website, as long as it’s not harmful or hurtful what you have to say, the problem is that their definition of harmful is whatever they want it to be that fits their narrative.

The amount of hate one can get just for having the wrong opinion is dazzling. If there weren’t millions of users who could ultimately flock towards hive, I would avoid that site like the plague haha

I haven’t brought up crypto in non related crypto subs but I can imagine how tiresome and frustrating it must be.

I'm curious what was your post about that got so much people to upvote it and get it into trending sections. I also agree that Reddit mods are stupid.
Good luck

At some point people have to decide whether they want to continue using platforms that they know are unfair, biased and force people to self censor themselves to participate. Some short term gain really isn't worth selling out your principles for just to use their platform.

By using these censorship platforms like Facebook, Youtube, Reddit you are funding them through usage and contributing to freedom of speech and freedom of ideas being stripped away. Just stop using those platforms and any anti freedom, anti human platform. Every small action a person can take to defund these platforms is a win for humanity. Just stop using them and let them fade away.

I mostly read rpghorrorstories and occasionally ghost/paranormal/horror stories on Reddit and after that and occasionally ending up on the Blender subs when searching for various solutions to the problems I inevitably run into in the course of doing stuff, I've decided it's a cesspit. Not because of the users (though some of them are cess but that's generally to be expected on the internet) but because I got irritated with them relentlessly trying to force the app on me, and the "moderation" seems to be almost completley random and arbitrary.

As much as I'd miss rpghorrrorstories now that I know about it, Reddit is absolutely something I can easily do without if it gets any stupider than it already is.

That's what the site is all about.

I had never used it before this really but it was easy to see what was popular. I gained a lot of karma fast but nothing like your post. Just went from 20 to 150 in a day with a few of these questions but yours obviously hit the right note.

I think that we are all so done with these old sites after seeing what web3 looks like and the absence of this bullshit.

Unfortunately this is also what mass adoption will look like as people spend their time shitposting for attention. We've seen it before and we'll see it again if these people do come to a hive based app farming for monetary karma.

I experienced the same banning several times not knowing what rules I violated. Since then, I gave it up though I still rarely visit it.