Prime Day - Shop Till You Drop

in #retail4 years ago

Prime Day

SHOP TILL YOU DROP



Amazon Prime Day.JPG

Let's ignore the fact that it's actually two days, not one.

It's Amazon Prime Day today! And yesterday :). This is when a huge chunk of products available on Amazon go on sale. It's like a Boxing Day or New Year sale. I've been putting off some things I needed to buy till today, just to see if I could save some money.

Take the pair of spare batteries I've been eyeing up for my Canon M50. They've gone from £19.99 to £15.99 - not bad!

I'm not looking to buy anything large right now. If anything, I'm looking to sell off quite a few things. I did have a look, however, in case there was some extremely good deal I wouldn't want to pass up. Or, even, if there's something significantly reduced that I could buy, and sell on later closer to Christmas.

That's totally at thing you know? Retail Arbitrage. A lot of people are shopping right not to stock up their Q4 store. These items they are acquiring now will be marked up for for the Christmas buying frenzy. It's a legit business model, one which I've done before in the past. I don't have the energy for it anymore though.

On the other hand, there are people currently just buying for no reason apart from the fact that they cans save 10% off something they didn't know they needed five minutes before they saw it.

There's also a lot of landfill material currently being moved from China to Amazon warehouses to homes worldwide. Poorly made plastic junk designed to feed our insatiable consumerism.

What are you buying from Amazon today?

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

I'll resist the temptation. I really don't need anything right now and I'd rather support retailers other than Amazon, but I am sure millions will be chasing 'bargains'. I try to avoid just browsing online shops and just go after what I actually need. That saves me more money.

That's a good strategy :)