#Escency - My First Blockchain Game: Rising Star, my thoughts.

in #risingstar4 years ago (edited)

img_0.8788631712712103.jpg

Hello Hive gamers!

I never thought I'd make gaming related content, and I apologise about it being made on my mobile, I don't have access to my laptop.

After some convincing from my wife (@pommom) who recently discovered blockchain gaming as well, I decided to give it a go.

She originally looked into
img_0.020460371506166215.jpg

and found it a bit full on though she did enjoy it. I think the artwork is amazing and reminiscent of styles seen in classic Sierra games like Space Quest or artwork from the old school Battletech games if anyone else remembers them. We figured something a little easy going would probably be a great place to start.

I remember seeing some posts from @steevc talking about a pretty cool looking blockchain game called Rising Star, by @risingstargame but gave it a pass until my wife once again got me on board.

She got a few packs and did a few missions and before I knew it I was doing it too, lol.

I have to say it has been pretty fun but what really impresses me is it's effectiveness at on-ramping my wife into Hive, let alone crypto.

She is on Hive Engine every day now! She's gone cryptobannanas getting into @cryptobrewmaster and Dcity.

Never thought I'd ever see it, but she's one of us now! Hahaha, nah I kid. What is great though is that she is taking me along on the ride and I'm really enjoying it.

Rising Star has taught me a lot about NTFs and how they work, which I really appreciate.

The game itself if you don't know, involves you being an aspiring musician making your journey from illegal busking to being a world-wide sensation.

While doing this you complete missions and get rewarded in Starbits, which is the game's native currency that is also traded on the hive dex.

After every 1000 Starbits you earn you are able to withdraw them to your Hive wallet. Here's how I've done since the week or so I've been playing.

img_0.6327426816743875.jpg

You use Starbits to get new random packs of NFT cards or trade with other players for specific ones. There are many different types to collect which give you many different effects.

img_0.8205682528750177.jpg

These effects come in the form of modifiers to your income, your fans, your skill, your luck and even your ego.

Each mission coats energy to complete

img_0.09329726786185087.jpg

As you can see this one takes 90% D: but the rewards can be worth it! Getting 1000 Starbits in one mission is a pretty satisfying feeling.

So far ive reinvested everything I've made back into the game.

Oh and I should mention, and this is probably the most significant thing about Rising Star is that it is actually Free To Play, whereas some others I've noticed require an initial investment in order to get involved. That's not a bad thing by any means, it's just a deterrent to the skeptical or naive I guess.

It being free encouraged me to give it a go lol.

Overall I can't help but feel as though the game is a very well executed and addictive crypto mining algorithm. Which is pretty darn ingenious, in my opinion.

Since I've started ive not stopped, and as you can see by the thumbnail, I've even been lucky enough to get my hands on a super rare card! This one boosts my fans and skill by 10,000, which is pretty nuts.

The game so has an extensive library of music from actual independent artists, many of them who are on Hive and contribute to Dsound. It has exposed me to a lot and taught me a lot more than I ever expected it to. Not to mention again that it served as an on-ramp for my wife.

The game is in its Alpha stage, so expect it to be heavily developed over time, however what exists right now is actually quite fun. Managing your stats and energy can be pretty thought provoking and challenging.

I fully recommend giving it a go if you haven't.

If you want to take the plunge and grind your way to stardom Use my link

https://www.risingstargame.com?ml=johneyreacko~65x375x368J4J4o29J49T1J410J4T1o27J4J4x36

You will not regret it!

Sort:  

Fun game for sure. I've been playing this one regularly too. Doing the same thing as well, just reinvesting and buying packs with each 10K of Starbits. Definitely is a great way to introduce people to Hive and crypto in general, plus it's a lot of fun!

Glad you are enjoying it!

!BEER


Hey @the-bitcoin-dood, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You did well to get that card and it really boosts your earnings. I think it's a great entry point to Hive and the community is fun. Rock on and have a !BEER.

!BEER


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your kind words and the fact that it has helped to on board your wife is probably the thing that made me smile the most!
I am contemplating creating an interface for non-blockchain people to get them on boarded and playing, maybe even allowing them to play initially without even having a Hive account and then helping them set one up when they want to withdraw or buy a pack.
I already started with this document but I need to turn it into an online tutorial that pops up if it doesn't detect the Hive keychain on a computer.
It's just finding the time!

Anyway glad you are both enjoying the game!

This post gives you one entry into the weekly prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post once a day and add the link to the #hive channel in our Discord to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

Join our curation trail to automatically upvote posts about Rising Star.

!BEER

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency


Hey @johneyreacko, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @johneyreacko, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.