The Flux Period

in #risingstar3 years ago (edited)

I woke up this morning to the sound of the alarm on my iPad that I'd set the night before.

My father was coming over to pick me up for a post Christmas catch up.

Outside, the wind was blowing galeforce winds which threatened to bring down yet another branch of the carpark's Gumtree onto my fence, while actually spitting gum nuts onto my roof with a machinegun-like rat-a-tat-tat sound.

The wind settled down considerably after that.

I should write about the last time a branch fell down and damaged my clothesline. I am still waiting on the clean up and for it to be repaired.

This time of year is what I like to call...

The Flux Period



img_0.07729993769005299.jpg
The Flux Capacitor

Image source

It's that weird time between Christmas and New Year's Eve.

After the built up anticipation, gift giving, merriment and the over-indulgences of Christmas (no finger pointing, please!), there is the Boxing Day hangover and clean up to deal with!

While there is no historical evidence for this, and while experts are still disputing the origin of Boxing Day, I am just going to claim it's the day where you throw away the boxes from the Christmas presents. OK, maybe I do it the day after Boxing Day, but I am definitely thinking of the clean up on that day.

From the 26th to the 31st of December it's a flux period where we are supposed to be in a festive mood but you could also be expected to work during those days too.

Am I working or am I not?

Most people choose to take their annual leave at this time for this reason.

It's not quite New Year's Eve either.

With the countdown to the end of 2020 building up even more anticipation and the untapped potential of a crisp, new, untainted and virginal 2021 singing it's siren song, it's magical time where anything could happen.

No resolutions made or goals to set just yet.
It's a blank slate; a Zen Master's dream.

The Catch Up


I had enough time to shower, listen to a few podcasts, put on my Grogu T-shirt, do a general tidy up and scribble something out on a Christmas card before my father arrived.
img_0.6402400737327698.jpgGrogu AKA Baby Yoda from The Mandalorian

(How good was this season finale of The Mandalorian?)

There was a knock at the door, greetings were exchanged and before long I was on my way to my father's house.

Nibbles await...


img_0.5440537072031251.jpgChips, fruit, and Peanut M&M's

Seemingly as a counter to the pleasant image of the food spread, I was met with this gruesome image.


img_0.030187793726816386.jpgDismembered stuffie

Shelley, his normally placid dog, just have had a bout of excessive aggression at some point.
Chuckle.

We spoke for hours in-between looking at our various screens and eating nibbles.

Here's me maintaining a poker face while listening to family drama / gossip.


img_0.08391562997437485.jpgPoker face and beard status update

We even had pizza with prawns!


img_0.28331621806771734.jpgPrawn Pizza

That's all for this particular entry.
I hope that whatever you choose to do in the new year, I wish you all the best of success.

Thank you for reading.

If you got a laugh, or at least a chuckle out of this post let me know in the comments.


img_0.2258315524669164.jpg
Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

Sort:  

Oh, I actually know this one! The origins of boxing day, the clue lies in "box". It was the day of gift giving. Christmas day was church and worship and boxing day, if you could afford it, you gave gifts. Usually it was the rich giving to the poor or their servants. I think the servants also got a day off after doing all the work and clean up for Christmas day.

Thank you. I was aware of this version, but when I was searching there seemed to be some differing views, and decided rather than pick either one, to inject a bit of humour instead.
:)

Chuck another prawn on the pizza!

The Aussie Christmas! - hot weather and storms and not a reindeer to be seen.

A nation that goes to sleep for a month from 25 Dec to 26 Jan.

Enjoy the holidays.

LMAO. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you too.

Congratulations @shaidon! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Offer a gift to your friends for Christmas
HiveFest⁵ feedback and contest results

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal