Rocks on the beach and some sea pink flowers

in #rocks5 years ago (edited)

Black tar lichen (Verrucaria maura) is the black part of rocks and mountains just above the flood target on the sea.
It is a lichen that can withstand salt water. This lichen is black in colour. Some people think this black area just above the salt water is spoiled oil, but it is a saltwater tolerant lichen. A smaller stone next to the larger one is almost covered by this black​ tar lichen.

Somewhat further up from the sea, other species may thrive.
This stone on the shore shows examples of different species of lichen.
Some of these I can not decide on species, but I know the common orange lichen also called maritime sunburst (Xanthoria parietina)
The pink or red beach plant is usually called sea pink or sea thrift (Armeria maritima) a beautiful floral touch in the shore area.

DSC_1466.jpg

DSC_1511.jpg

DSC_1500.jpg

Sort:  

Natural beauty is unbelievable and inspiring at the same time.

Thank you for your comments about the pictures of the rocks and flowers @Introvert-dime

Thanks to your photos and comments every time
I learn a lot of interesting and informative , dear friend @Siggjo

Thank you very much for your interesting publications!

Thank you for your comments about my photos and the accompanying text @Singa

For me, this is a discovery! Thank you my Dear friend @Siggjo, for this wonderful lesson in botany and great photos. I did not associate these black spots with oil, or oil, I thought that, once upon a time, there was a layer of rotten algae at this level, which began to release hydrogen sulfide. Usually, such a layer of black color and it paints everything around, it looks like a very stinky oil, but it is not. Good night to you!

Thank you for your comments about my post about the botany @Barski
The reason I mentioned the oil that I have heard some people in Norway telling others that this black area above the sea level should be oil. I know that this black part of the rocks is due to this black tar lichen.