Running the Old Cranberry Bogs of Black Run (#runforsteem)

in #running6 years ago (edited)

When I was a kid growing up in Southwest Pennsylvania I truly believed that the only reason to cross the Delaware River into New Jersey was to go to the beach. When we would cross the river, the first several miles of "The Garden State" were actually just a lot of concrete, strip malls, and overgrown weeds. And then it was a terribly boring hour and a half drive through what seemed like endless miles of pine trees. When my wife first mentioned that we should look at homes in New Jersey I thought she was joking.

This is my #runforsteem post for this week. Check out @jumowa's Weekly Run for Steem Challenge to learn how to participate!

Fast forward 10 years and I am a veritable Garden State cheerleader!

All sarcasm and exaggeration aside, I truly began to appreciate South Jersey when I moved back east from the the Pacific Northwest when I was 30. The Pinelands and adjoining salt marshes make for one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, but the beauty is subtle, and requires getting deep off the main roads.

My training for the Broad Street 10 Miler (next Sunday) has been seriously lagging, and although I know I am not going to be in great shape for it, I figured I had one last chance this weekend to get an extended run in. I decided to take my two kids to Black Run Preserve, a fascinating tract of land that used to be a significant part of the State's cranberry production. At one time, South Jersey provided the vast majority of the cranberries consumed in America. Today, Black Run is in the process of returning to wilderness, but the cranberry bogs, along with all the man-made dykes and damns, provide a unique landscape.

My kids were on their bikes, and we headed out on the 5k trail (parts of the Long Trail and Bog Trail), marked exceptionally well.

The photo below is a good example of how many of the trails follow the dykes between the bogs. Also, lots and lots of soft pine needles make for a very soft surface to run on, making this area a dream for a longer run.

IMG_0948.JPG

South Jersey is not known for hills, but the bogs also provide some ups and downs. The kids struggled with the ups, but were thrilled with the downs.

IMG_0949.JPG

The trails wind around many bogs like this one.

IMG_0954.JPG

The photo below was taken along what I imagine was a reservoir, much deeper than the bogs, and now completely dry. All along the walls of the reservoir are little bumps that you can see in the photo, which I am assuming provided drainage all around the reservoir instead of one stream. The bumps make for fun running and cycling.

IMG_0960.JPG

The photo below shows another path on a dyke, and a cut-out where water was allowed to flow from one bog to the next.

IMG_0975.JPG

Water, water everywhere, and sometimes the trails are almost completely awash. You can kind of see the tea colored water below, known as cedar water. All over this region we have this cedar water, which is a result of the dark tannin from the pine trees dying the water. The water is actually quite clean, and when you cup it in your hand it looks clear, but in streams and ponds it is quite dark.

IMG_0986.JPG

Below is a remnant of the cranberry farms, a dam that is now just letting the water flow as it pleases. When these bogs were used for production there was a very sophisticated system of reservoirs, bogs and dams that would allow for massive amounts of water to be moved about depending on the season.

IMG_0995.JPG

And the last photo, below, is what a 6 year-old looks like after a 6-mile mountain bike ride!

IMG_1001.JPG

All in all, this was an awesome way to trick myself into doing a solid 6 miles. I took it nice and easy, as all I am trying to do at this point is get my body used to moving continuously for 1 1/2 hours. The run felt great, so I am confident that Sunday's race will work out fine. I will not be running a pr, but I will thoroughly enjoy a jaunt from one end of my city to the other with 30,000 friends. More on that next week!

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 4.41.16 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 4.42.02 PM.png

Check out @runningproject where I lead a beginner and intermediate 5k Training Program

mannabasescreenshot.png

Mannabase is a crypto approach to Universal Basic Income.
Sign up now for your FREE weekly distributions of Manna
Full disclosure: the above is a referral link.

Sort:  

The kids must have been exhausted.

You seem you have had nice company during your run through this beautiful forest. I could almost smell the scent of conifers...

What a nice trails and kids! Seems you have enjoyed a great adventure there!

This post has been resteemed by @SteemPhilly - official content aggregator for the Philly STEEM community and meet up. Please help us promote the community by following our feed and using the hashtag #Steemphilly or mentioning @Steemphilly in your posts. Thanks and keep posting good content!

We all have dreams.
But in order to make dreams come into reality,
it takes an awful lot of determination, dedication,
self-discipline, and effort.
Jesse Owens


Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 14!
Resteemed by @runningproject