Weekly Running Update: Steady Progress!

in #running4 years ago

Three runs again last week, Monday's slightly faster than the previous Monday's, Wednesday's 1.5KM longer than last Wednesdays, and well Friday I felt I just flew round, with ease.

My old injury feels fine, but I'm still being very cautious about building things up again, besides it's actually quite nice finishing these runs and feeling fresh, rather than being knackered all afternoon!

I track most of my runs with Garmin, which auto uploads to Strava.

Weekly running summary:

  • Total kilometres this week: 11.5 (not including warm ups)
  • No. of runs: 3

Monday's Run - 5K slow

Monday.JPG

Well Strava tells me it was harder than lat week's - I took 30 seconds of my time, at an average pace of around 4.47 - not bad for the run that's supposed to become my long run - I'm aiming to sustain 4.40s when I start building this up to 8, then 10Ks, and beyond!

compared to last week's

Monday.JPG

I'm still taking it easy on these runs, happy enough to keep 5K as my long run while I up the distance on Wednesday and the pace on the Friday.

Wednesday's Run: 1K middle, will be intervals

Weds.JPG

I was going to add on +1K per week until I got up to my desired 4K total distance, which I'll then hold for a while, but I decided to compromise and add on 2 times 1.5KM, felt fine!

The idea is that this becomes my interval sessions - so I'll be doing 4Kms worth of intervals - so that's around 5-6 decent 400 metre blasts with shorter recoveries.

ATM I'm taking this easy, as you can see, it's just the 'extra easy run' - it's going to get faster!

Friday's Run: 4K 'fast'

Friday.JPG

This was just too easy, I did KM 1 deliberately slowish at 4.40, then KM, which was supposed to be at a 4.30 pace 2 came out at 4.25, and then I had to hold back to my planned 4.30 for the final two.

Frankly I'm amazed I haven't lost seemingly any form over the last 3 months of injury/ recover (it's been that long!) - my plan is to get to 4.20 for 4Ks for my 'training runs', which is within easy striking distance of a 4.00 pace (my goal for 5KM) and I'm having to discipline myself to run slower than 4.25.

Then again, the faster one gets, the harder it is to get faster, this might not feel so easy once I actually hit 4.20.

Next week's plans

Rinse and repeat - just build up the pace slightly on Monday and Friday, and up to 4Ks on Wednesday.

Then I'll be back up to 3 proper runs in a week, first time since April!

Sort:  

The fastest beard in the west! Good to see you are able to do more running again now. Are you getting out early before it gets stupid hot? I'll be cooling off in the pool later.

I find as long as I get out before 11.00 it's OK, if I was going longer, I'd probably aim to get out and back before 9.00.

I've been doing most of my recent runs starting before 8. I like to get it out of the way. Not that I have busy days lately.

It's a great time of day to be out running - although I've actually got into the habit of getting up at 6.00 doing a quick 30 minute walk, then meditating, then I get to work - I find I'm in the mood for a run naturally somewhere between 9.00 to 11.00 a.m.

I'm trying to be up before 8 despite not having to go to work. Lying in does me no good at all. I prefer to be out when it's quieter anyway.