The haunted village - Part 4/They lived here once

This fourth part is to share a few pictures of the abandoned houses we met on our way across the "Haunted Village". As you can see, some are still habitable, since the owners keep visiting the place and try to maintain those old buildings. New roofs, painted walls, new windows, houses that defy the deadly silence of the lonely mountain among a bunch of other, long deserted buildings...

DSC_0128.JPG

Dereliction...

DSC_0174.JPG

I never knew there was a sky above me so bright
until that roof above my head
grew feet and ran away...

Now all I need to do is
my wings to grow
and fly

DSC_0175.JPG

There used to be light
among those windows
at nights so dark where even darkness
would fear itself

Now not even Death
wishes to see himself
reflecting on those windows...

DSC_0176.JPG

Them branches
upon the skies raising themselves
in a desperate cry for
redemption

DSC_0177.JPG

One would hear footsteps
as pebbles and stones met with a man's shoes
a man who wanders around this hellish ground
but no shadow has he
for he is not a man

DSC_0178.JPG

They conquered
what was left alone to die
it grew around it
climbed above it
and used it
a stepping stone
to reach the sky

DSC_0179.JPG

Huh, it seems like some old poetic muse decided to visit me. It has been a long time since I tried to write anything, but apparently those pictures worked as a nice prompt. Not bad, definitely not flawless, but there is still something in there, I only to be patient enough and keep my mind open whenever it feels like coming over...

To be continued...


Original content by @ruth-girl - Photos taken with Nikon Z 6ii/24-70mm - All rights reserved

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aplusd ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This is such a cool idea for a post, a picture-prompt-continuous-poem, don't mind if I yoink! 😁

There are hundreds of abandoned villages like this one where I live. All scattered across the many mountains like polka dots. They are most assuredly eerie.

And the poem is far from bad, nothing is ever flawless anyway. that doesn't mean we can't strive for more.

Great post. kudos. 👏

Thank you for the kind words!

I'm enjoying this series, hoping to see more from it, I just love haunted places.

Thank you!

Very nice pictures, here I am enjoying this part #4 I have followed this tour since the first part, I love it very much and more the sequence in which you are presenting it, that environment called my attention.