Enjoy National Sandwich Day!

in #sandwich3 years ago

If we're going to celebrate American holidays, let's not forget this one: November 3 is National Sandwich Day. Let's make it World Sandwich Day!


PBJsandwichpikrepo.jpg
Stock picture from Pikrepo

What are you having for breakfast or lunch today?

As it happens, I don't have normal bread in the house. The supermarket delivered a double dose of raisin buns (krentebollen) instead. For breakfast I'm improvising with peanut butter on knäckebröd, liverwurst with mustard on a slice of rye bread, and sandwich spread on a raisin bun. For lunch, I'll have a pita with cheese, and maybe a warmed-up pancake with honey or jam.

sandwich day bread.jpg

To be honest, I don't understand the appeal of peanut butter & jelly sandwiches. Our peanut butter isn't sweetened - in fact, I'm having peanut butter made from nothing but roasted peanuts now. It's rather oily, you need to stir and mix it before spreading, and it's delicious.

My favorite sandwich is either scrambled eggs with all kinds of condiments added, or smoked horse meat with salami on whole-wheat bread. I also keep trying to make the perfect compromise between a pancake and an omelette.

Tuesday is always a quiet day with thin newspapers. Anything else happening today?

Sort:  

I quite like a peanut butter sandwich. My favourite may be a tuna melt. Our sandwich toaster gets a lot of use. I do like eggs too. If you eat horse you might not be popular in our house. You don't see it as a food in the UK.

!BEER


Hey @edb, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I do love peanut butter, but I mix it with honey. Peanut butter and jelly is not a thing here in South Africa, but most people have it with syrup!!