You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's fix SBD without breaking the Trending page

in #sbdpotato4 years ago

Can we not just have whales converting SBD to Steem without the posts? Or persuade other users to do it? I saw something about allocating rewards to the project on proper posts. Anything to get a better ratio of good content on Steem.

It still seems a small chance of getting SBD back up to $1 for now. It needs a real reason for people to buy it.

Sort:  

I'm assuming they're unwilling to convert their SBD to STEEM (at ~$0.60), while knowing (hoping) that the price goes back up to $1.00.

I don't disagree that the peg is important, though, at least in terms of optics and a sense of stability.

The optics for who?

Anyone, really. If it's described at being "$1 USD worth of STEEM", but it's only $0.60 -- then I would imagine it appear inadequate and broken to whoever is looking.

What about the optics for people that have no idea what SBD is, and come to a webpage for the first time and see a bunch of 'steem preservation' garbage.

If steem were a place people wanted to be and/or in the midst of a bull market (there was actual demand), the price of a token would take care of itself.

I think the potato and burn posts are irritating. I never said I liked these posts / initiatives or that they were the best way to achieve what people were trying to do -- just that the SBD peg seems important.

I do my best to never view the trending page -- and my mood has benefited greatly from it.

I would suggest that anyone and everyone do the same, and that anyone developing a project on Steem do their best to ensure their project doesn't utilize an unfiltered and ridiculous trending page containing all sorts of crap that happens to be sorted by rewards.

That's my point. Those that care about the SBD peg and can ignore the trending page are already on the platform. We are a captive audience. We would be here no matter what the price of SBD is, and so would the burners.

People who view the front ends for the very first time looking for people to follow, see the trending as a showcase of what Steemit (or whatever) has to offer.