Scammer tried to scam me, so I trolled her

in #scam3 years ago

There has been a new scam going around targeting NFT artists. Scammers DM artists on different platforms (Twitter, Instagram, Discord) and they pretend to ask them to make commissions or collaborate. Then they will send them a Google Drive link (or even Dropbox) for the files needed for the commission. It will require them to download and once they do, it will install some sort of ransomware or whatever virus that will have the ability to lock your funds, or they will have access to it.

I'm not sure how exactly this works, but many artists have already been a victim considering it's really not that suspicious. Of course if you are a desperate artist needing a commission then you'll likely to fall a victim.

Once they gain access to your address, they will then demand some ETH for you to be able to get it back. As an artist, of course you would want your address back as your works are there, it serves as a COA, and your royalties from secondary sales are automatically going there... forever.




I received an Instagram DM

Thank goodness I've already known about this scam so when I had a DM from someone, I was already prepared.


IMG_3038.PNG


I always assume they are good people, but my suspicions are already heightened but I went along with it.




IMG_3050.PNG


Hahaha. I already knew she will make an excuse to really send the files on an external link but I insisted it will be sent on Instagram just to see what photo is she gonna use.




image0 (18).jpg


Duh. It's hiddenblade you're tryna fool? My friends jokingly call me FBI cos I am good at investigating XD but yeah I just did a simple reverse image search just to see where she got it. LOL. Try harder maybe.




IMG_3051.PNG


Lmao. "I trust you completely" fucking manipulator.




IMG_3052.PNG


Lol. She thought I would send out an actual work. XD The best part is she pretended it was all good and said "nice'' all while asking for my ETH address.

Of course I gave out Vitalik Buterin's address.




Be careful

These scams will continue to exist and they will improvise their tactics. Be very careful out there. Trust no one and don't download or open any files from a stranger.

Store your seed phrases and keys safely.


IMG_3491.JPG

Sort:  

It would be funny if she sent the 4 ETH to Vitalik. I love messing with scammers on the phone and wasting their time.

Yeah I was waiting maybe she'd send some troll NFT or shitcoin but she didn't.

Same here. I always get these phone calls saying I'm due compensation for an accident I had, then they ask me for details about my accident. It's so fun playing along

You are glorious, I really did LOL. 😂

Haha glad you enjoyed it xD

I actually love this! As much as I don't trust myself sniffing out a scam right off the bat, it would be funny to mess with them and waste their time for a couple days..

Great work!

waste their time for a couple days..

Well damn that's some dedication. But why not! Hahaha.

Lol day by day the scammers are finding different ways to scam and in the world of internet its really very easy of for them to scam its good for people like you who have FBI agent
skills 😬.

That's was a good art BTW 🤣🙏⁦✌️⁩

Yeah. Instead of improving their life, here they are improving their scams 😂 Thank you hahah it took me 5 minutes. Very effort

Nowadays you have a lot of these scammers, it's actually good that you spotted the scheme, anyone willing to make a load of money would easily get carried away by these guys.

True. And 4 ETH is no joke, for desperate ones for sure they will bite the offer. :/

I guess I'll be getting those too once I start minting and selling stuff. But I took Computer Science in college and know how to handle those low-life scumbags. Too bad we can't physically pull their heads out of the monitor screen so we can do 😈nasty stuff😈 to them.

Yeah, or probably in another scheme.. cos this one is spreading around too so a lot of artists knew about this already. In a couple of days this should die down. Do nasty stuff on them if you want! You can see the username :D

Damn. This is just insane.
If people devote the craftiness they exhibit in scamming people to legit stuff, they should make great impacts. Instead, they think the way to go is rob innocent people. Shame...

I'm glad you were prepared for this.

Yeah. They are actually having satisfaction with seeing people suffer. Doesn't matter even if they are already rich.

LOL scammers going to scam at least you have some fun about it but they a numbers game they just looking for the greater fool there’s probably a bunch of peeps sitting around checking #nft and doing the rounds

Some dude called me out of Hong Kong the other day wants me to invest in cannabis stocks and his talk about how bad the inflation rate is in South Africa and he can make me 15% a year returns

I’m like mate the CAGR of Bitcoin is 103% and I’ve been in since 2016 how you going to beat returns I made myself without commission or handing over funds to someone with counter party risk?

And his like um er sir great opportunity I’m like fuck off

good read

Superb, I love a good scam the scammer story and especially liked the "artwork in your style" lol!

when i saw this on your story and read about giving you 4 Eth i reacted lots of heart 😂😂 was gonna be excited for you til i saw the last one hahaha way to go vyank

Gold. Honestly, you should pay her 4 ETH for keeping you entertained!!!

Great one.