You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SEAPHOTOGRAPHY CONTEST • WEEK 134 • SEA and SUNSETS !!!

in #seaphotography3 years ago

Thank you @world-travel-pro that is sad news I think that island relied on foreign tourist alone that would have devastated the whole island it was really pumping when I was there that's a real shame hope it can recover in the near future.

To me I didn't mind the traffic been from a big city it was nothing for me but we spent most of our time traveling inland and coastline finding all the hidden gems and had fun doing it.

Had you seen Samui in it's good times before covid?

Sort:  

That's the thing I love to do most, exploring and finding those hidden gem places.

Yes I was in Samui for a day trip in 2019, then again in 2012, and in 2003 and 2006 I think. Back 15 years ago, the island was way quieter and less developed. Very much like Koh Phagnan today. Probably why I like Koh Phagnan better now, but Samui was my go to island back then before all the big resorts moved in a bought everything up.

Yes it's not only Samui that go whacked hard with covid, 25% of of Thailands GDP came from tourism. 40 million visitors a year down to about zero. It's been hard times from Kho San Road in Bangkok to Koh Kut hanging off the southern tip of Koh Chang on the Cambodian side.

Well i am glad you got to see Samui in the goods times, I think it's going to take quite a while for any tourist related countries to get back to the norm let's hope sooner then later but in the mean time keep enjoying, you are at the right place for that 👍

Thanks buddy. I'm certainly enjoying the island life here. I started counting the beaches that surround me in each direction it's got to be over 40, and then you have even more little hidden spots that are not on the map. I agree, it's gonna be years until anything gets back to whatever resembled normal in regards to tourism. Thanks for stopping by and helping support blog. Much appreciated!

WOW, could you ever imagine how many beaches Thailand actually has it would be countless and you have the perfect opportunity to see them at there best all clean tourist free, I can see that sea water been crystal clean like never before. Enjoy buddy 👍

Thanks buddy. Went swimming in the full moon beach this morning. Water was calm and crystal clear. Couldn't find any garbage in the water or on the beach. I certainly am lucky to be here.

Stop making me jealous but I shouldn't be complaining our weather and beaches here in Byron Bay at the moment are smashing brilliant 😊

Hahaha, I'm sure they are. Here is something else you might get jealous over...keep in mind I'm definitely not a rich guy by western standards and live mostly off my income from my blog. But I just hired a maid to cook, clean, and she does massage too for 3 days a week.....only $130USD a month! And that's paying her at least 20% more than normal Thai Prices! She is so good and so happy to be making any money, saying the job market is beyond awful here. So living like a king here for less than a grand a month! Crazy. But now I have time to edit and arrange all those photos! haha....

Thanks for stopping by as always! :)