November 26, 2020--Practice blog in the time of the virus

Okay, it wasn't a practice day. It is Thanksgiving here in the United States, so it was a day of lounging around, sleeping, cooking, eating, and FaceTiming with family. All was good. I did practice for about 40 minutes while turkey was cooking.

On the piano, I have been trying to get some pieces memorized. Two Mendelssohn Songs without words are coming slowly, a Chopin Mazurka is pretty much there. And there there is the first movement of Mozart's Sonata in F major K.533. Some days it is okay except for a spot in the recapitulation, other days it just seems to slip my memory almost entirely. Today was one of those days. I did want to get a recording to listen to it. So I used the score. For the most part it came out okay, but there were a couple of slips. Please excuse them.