Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 83 submission--Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu BWV 639 from Orgelbuchlein by J.S. Bach


And here is yet another of the Orgelbuchlein. BWV 639 is an extraordinary piece as it is a rare example of a trio in the entire collection. The upper voice carries the chorale tune lightly elaborated while the pedals have a throbbing bass line which pushes the music forward. The middle voice (left-hand) ties everything together with it's continuous string of sixteenth notes through out the piece. I will be honest, I really hadn't listened to the piece before I started working on it and only listened to one recording while I worked on it. That particular recording moved along at a good clip. Even my score had tempi ranging from 36 to 48 to the quarter note. I came close to averaging with my tempo at around 40 to the quarter note. I then went and listened to a couple other recordings, including the amazing recording put out by the Netherlands Bach Society, and my tempo is much faster than most recordings. I think mine works as it allows the chorale tune to simply float above the accompaniments. I am always open to criticism.

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at Hive Vote or SteemAuto!

Thanks for your entry!