Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 90--Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland BWV 599 from Orgelbuchlein by J.S. Bach

I began my exploration through the Orgelbuchlein of Bach with the New Year's Chorale Preludes and moved forward from there. This week we move back to the beginning of the entire series with an Advent Prelude. I am fairly early with this one as Advent is quite a way off, but I am keeping with my goal of submitting one each week for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest.

This prelude seems to be pretty straight forward, an expectation of the arrival of Jesus as Savior of the world. A little "cross" motive permeates the entire prelude with lots of leaping in the pedals while the chorale tune is heard in the upper register of the organ. But the expectation can take on several meanings. In reading Raymond Nagem's blog on his preparation to play the entire Orgelbuchlein, he writes "But the meaning of this first piece is perhaps not so simple. As the British organist Richard Townend asks, “What was in his mind when he was doing this? … Did the Saviour come as mystery or did he come in triumph?” It’s up to the the performer to make a decision, and that decision carries all the meaning for the listener." I chose a more triumphant approach to the prelude, using a Principal Chorus in the manuals with a couple of added flutes. The pedals were also a principal chorus with an added trumpet in the enclosed swell in the pedals. I may try it again in a couple of days trying to get the "mystery" side of the piece. We shall see.
On a side note, it was casual Friday--so I dressed casually.

Sort:  

I think I'm more in favor of the 'mystery'-version. I'd probably play it with ju8st a principal 8' and a flute 8' to dull out a bit the upper harmonies.
Would it be okay for you if I did just that for the contest this week?

I would love to hear your rendition.

Thanks, I'll post it tomorrow

Thanks for your entry!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.



The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at Hive Vote or SteemAuto!