Ernst Friedrich Richter, Fuge, Es Dur | Secrets of Organ Playing Contest, Week 94

This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing Conctest, Week 94. I play Richter's fugue in E flat major.

thumbHive2.jpg

It is the fugue that goes with the prelude I played for Week 42 of the contest. Incidentally, that's almost exactly a year ago. Since then I turned my attention to other projects and left this prelude and fugue unpublished. Well, now it's time to change that.

The fugue goes well enough now. The prelude as well. It's playing them together in one go, without too many errors that is my challenge now. When played together they take almost 9 minutes. And playing 9 minutes without error is still beyond me. I have no idea how concert organists do that. Probably they have a better way of practising then I have. The frustrating part is that errors in my playing are random. It is not tied to difficult places. Those I can practise till they go smoothly. Playing a whole piece, however, I always make random mistakes in random places. Making recordings like this one, I just have to hope for a take where the mistakes are not too noticeable. And the longer the piece, the smaller the chances of that happening.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sample set, made by Voxus, of the Van Dam organ (1832) in Tholen (https://www.voxusorgans.com/en/product/tholen).

Sort:  

!discovery 30

I feel you pain, about the long pieces + random mistakes 😒
However, you played it perfectly 👍
And what an ending, I like your concentration while playing and happiness when you finish the interpretation 💐💐💐

Yes, I'm always glad when I reach the end without too many mistakes.

Very good attitude 👍😁

Sounds beautiful! I also like your outfit, very elegant.

I didn't know about this contest. How great that there are so many organists in hive.

Only three or four really active. Would be nice if that were more.

Maybe I can help you with the diffusion. Do you use Discord? We can talk that way to plan an alliance.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thanks for your entry!

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.



The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at Hive Vote or SteemAuto!