J.S. Bach, Nun Komm' der Heiden Heiland BWV 659, Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 141

in #secretsoforganplaying3 years ago (edited)

Hi! It's so good to be back :)
This week I'd like to share with you my recording of J.S. Bach's chorale Nun Komm' der Heiden Heiland BWV 659. It still amazes me that I could play it ten times in a row without major mistakes, but when the camera is on it becomes so difficult, it took me hours to record it (and there's still one bar that definitely didn't go the way it's supposed to go ;).
Yet, I want to share it with you, as it shows the progress i made in recent months.

Nun Komm der Heiden Heiland is my favourite amongst Leipziger Chorale Preludes. It's so calm and soothing that you can literally feel the undisturbed hope, that it's supposed to express.

I also need your technical adivce, especially from those experiened in hauptwerk usage:
As you can hear in the video, there are some cracking noises appearing from time to time. They started to appear some time ago and I suppose they are somehow correlated with momentary (shorter than a second) CPU overloads that happen sometimes. Do you have any idea what may cause these annoying effects and how can fix it?

Sort:  

Very nice, well done! What you might want to try, as you already have a very soft accompaniment, is to play the solo with just a principal 8. The principale 8 is often my favorite solo stop.

And the camera stess is all too recognizsble. It was in fact my main reason to start to participate in this contest: learn to control the stress and fear. I'm still not good at it. Though I am training myself to gradually play longer and longer pieces in front of the camera.

Though I use Hauptwerk as well, I have no idea what could cause the sound cracks in your system. You might want to post your question on the Hauptwerk forum. Lots of knowledgeable people there.

Posted using Dapplr

Thank you so much! I'll try it right away :)

Great! And if you like the result: post it, so we can listen to it as well.

Posted using Dapplr

Congratulations @prinzipal! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 12

This is a very calm and soothing piece.

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.



The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at Hive Vote!