Planning the Road Trip - Part 1 - Musical Playlist

in #sgslife3 years ago (edited)

image.png

Big Road Trip Planning - Locking in the Entertainment

We are looking at the family on a long road trip after the kids are out of school. Nothing big, only about 3,000 miles over 10 days.

The good ol google maps says it will be over 47 hours of driving, assuming no increase in traffic, or accidents, and right around 3,000 miles round trip. This ignores any additional driving once we get there.

Picking Some Road Tunes



I figured I would get the kids into some new old music. Nothing like the oldies played over and over again to get some family unity!!! Here is what I pulled together, let me know what I have missed.

  • The Dock of the Bay
  • Witch Doctor
  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Wooly Bully
  • Louie Louie
  • Sugar Sugar
  • Rockin' Robin
  • Good Golly Miss Molly
  • Great Balls of Fire
  • Runaround Sue
  • Build Me Up Buttercup
  • I Can't Help Myself ( Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)
  • Lean on Me
  • Stand by Me
  • Lovely Day
  • Ain't No Sunshine
  • House Of The Rising Sun
  • My Girl
  • Yakety Yak

Those were 19 of the most fun old time songs I figured we could play to be goofy and sign along. Now I need your help - what great classics did I miss? Granted my kids are about 8-11 so this is all really strange to them. Most of the songs they like now are the pop country stuff on the radio that Mrs. Senstless dials up.

I think I need to find at least another 5-10 songs to fill this playlist out to help on the long 10-14 hour days in the car. Anything to change it up!

Give me your ideas - I will listen to them all and see what I add. I will give more details about the road trip later and break down our plan for days and miles and estimated time between segments.

I am sure this will be a trip the kids bring up and talk about they are older to tell their therapists why we were awful parents.

Have a great Sunday!!
~~ @senstless

k75bsZMwYNtze9xHvT6xWCdz7q3QGD35ZKdaPpVrFksWkDvwdVDs21q54YhC7SJtiWDJzsnWzHB9SsmfD54PeES3e2jyKf6pFwqPnzck8H6uH86V8HSiUwpZFKHEE6pc34LAEzqPjhQNwspYMDEM2wg5NYWBERb5f.gif

Sort:  

The songs depend on where you are driving. Gotta theme it to the destination. 😉 I mean I have a whole playlist of just songs for California. Or you’d play Elvis in Memphis. I used to have a tape of theme music for my cross country bus tours like playing highway to hell on route 666 (which no longer exists) or Sweet Home Alabama when you cross the border to Alabama. Or you play Fly me to the Moon when you visit NASA or Luck Be a Lady driving up the strip in Vegas.

That all being said.... 🤔

  • Horse with no Name (America)
  • Mrs Robinson (Simon & Garfunkel)
  • Coming to America (Neil Diamond)
  • Tiny Dancer (Elton John)
  • in My Life (The Beatles)
  • Crackling Rose Neil Diamond
  • Rama Lama Ding Dong

Any music from the American Graffiti soundtrack.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/41_Original_Hits_from_the_Soundtrack_of_American_Graffiti

Then if you go more contemporary....

  • Vacation (Dirty Heads)
    -Woke up in a Car (Something corporate)
  • Fly Away (Lenny Kravitz)
  • Beautiful Day (U2)
  • Island in the Sun (Weezer)
  • Holiday (Madonna)
  • Vacation (Go Go’s)
  • Holiday Road (from the vacation soundtrack)
  • California (Blink 182)
    Anything by Dolly Parton for Tennessee...

Another oldie...

  • Traveling Man (Ricky Nelson)

Start the road trip with Born to Be Wild!

I am going to do that, 1stbday born to be wild, then the morning theme song of on the road again.