Share My World: Day 2 Avalanche Lake Hike

in #sharemyworld4 years ago

On Day 2 of our Glacier National Park adventure we hike Trail of Cedars and continued to Avalanche Lake and went Kayaking on the Hungry Horse Lake.

Avalanche Lake Hike
This hike gets a 7/10

Sara's RatingPart of hikeMy thoughts
2Access to trailParking close to trail head. Limited parking, get there early!
1Difficultymoderate, 4.5 miles and 730 feet elevation gain
1ViewsYou are in Montana! The hike follows a river a lot of the time, there were parts of the hike I didn't care for
2DestinationBeautiful Lake, with at least 6 waterfalls going into it
1Time on trial3.5 hours from sign, 3 hours from falls

As I mentioned we left from Avalanche gorge and hiked toward the lake. To be honest it wasn't the prettiest hike and I wondered why we were hiking for so long. Jodi and I kept saying the lake better be worth it. There were definitely beautiful parts along the way which of course, I photographed!

The trail followed the river much of the way which was great!


Even the dead trees were beautiful in their own way.

The first view of Avalanche Lake


Group picture.
We sat on a log and ate dinner at the lake. It was peaceful and beautiful.

Me at the lake, my leg after I fell getting the intro picture, @jarvie hiding from us.

Share My World Series

2020
Share My World: Crater Lake in the snow
Share My World: Snowmobiling in Winter Park, Colorado
Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19
All the posts for April Trip to Utah
All the posts for Favorites of May Southern Utah Trip

All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

Some truly beautiful shots here. I'll have to check this place out when the borders open up again.

Thanks and definitely Montana is so close to Canada

Yep! About a 4.5 hour drive south from me to Avalanche Lake. So close yet so far.

The mountains! The trees! So wonderful!

Thanks Laura!

That pine needles shot made me double take. pretty awesome. And the lake was awesome... the falls at the beginning were cool. Much of the rest of the hike was not exciting but easy enough.

Thanks, got to get those botanical pictures on every hike! :)

Always so jealous of your hikes, my passion is to hike mountainous areas. Sadly my country doesn't feature any.

All the best to you!

Yes, there are lots of great hikes here in the United States. Especially the western U.S. (Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming) in the Rocky Mountain Range, which is were I love to go.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #962.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks Pauline!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yep, you definitely photograph amazingly... you are the best without a doubt