Share Our World: Religious places I have visited in past 10 years

in #shareourworld11 months ago

I recently posted Share Our World: The Amitabha Stupa and Peace Park and @itwithsm asked an interesting question.

I was searching on the internet about religion and I was shocked to see that there are almost 4000 active religions in the world, and there is a race, every religion is claiming to be the rightest religion. I want to ask you how many religious places have you visited till now like this?

I am interested in different world religions, so much that I took a world religion class in college. I have also enjoyed learning about religions as I study art history.

Temples of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints

As a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints the religious buildings I go to most are the temples.

Wednesday Walk: Mesa Temple Lights
Share Our World: DC Temple
Art Talk: Mesa Temple and Colonial Revival Architecture

In addition to the temples above, I have highlighted 10 different religious places I have visited in Italy, Norway, Arizona, California, Washington DC, New York City in the past 10 years.

As I was making this post I realized that I also frequent Roman Catholic religious buildings quite often too.

St. Peter's Basilica, Rome, Italy (Roman Catholic)

Baptistry in Florence, Italy (Roman Catholic)

San Xavier del Bac (Roman Catholic)

Share Our World: The White Dove of the Desert

Grace Church, New York City (Episcopal)

Art Talk: Grace Church and Gothic Revival Architecture

Memorial Church at Sandford University (Non-denominational)

Washington National Cathedral (Episcopal)

Share Our World: Washington National Cathedral
Art Talk: Resurrection Chapel at the National Cathedral

Oslo Cathedral (Lutheran)

Share Our World: High Mass at the 17th Century Oslo Cathedral

Gol Stave Church (Christian)

Share Our World: Gol Stave Church

The Amitabha Stupa and Peace Park (Buddhist)

Share Our World: The Amitabha Stupa and Peace Park

We visited the Church of the Holy Cross while in Sedona, Arizona

Church of the Holy Cross (Roman Catholic)

Note: I have taken pictures of many more religious buildings. For this post I wanted to highlight places in which I had a significant experience and if they were visited in the years since I have been blogging I included the post!

If you are interested in religious places/ buildings there are two Hivers that have done awesome work in documenting religious buildings- @jarvie and @laurabellamy

Here is a link to 2000 religous buildings from @jarvie Faith in America tour. He went on a road trip and documented religious buildings in all 50 states.

@laurabellamy has a great project called 1000 Holy Places. This recent video In Which We View 25 Holy Places in America is one of her best. Laura has such a great voice and the details and pictures she shares of each religious place is so interesting.

Thanks for asking @itwithsm. It has been great to look back at my experiences with religious places in the past 10 years and to share info for other Hivers that I follow that have a passion for religious places.

Share Our World Series

2021 posts are here 4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)
All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for creating this post @sjarvie5, these are some wonderful places, I want to ask another question, haven't you visited any Islamic prayer places? Islamic places are enrich in art and architecture.

No I haven't. I would love to go to an Islamic place!

You should visit one. You will enjoy it for sure.