Aleksa's Book Review: The Travels of a T-Shirt

in #shipping4 years ago

image.png

An error on my end caused me to go into this book, but I'm glad I did. I was hoping for it to relate to shipping, but it only tangentially refers to that field. It primarily examines the economics and science of the cotton industry.

Explaining the network effects that make the USA a competitive provider of raw cotton and Chinese manufacturing price-effective, the book treads across the world and explains how cotton touches all of our lives, for some in a big way.

The latter parts of the book go into economics and globalisation, which is somewhat basic and without too much insight. However, the explanation of second-hand clothing shipped to the third world is a very interesting subject.

I have nothing bad to say about the writing of the book - it's a fine read and probably mind-blowing if you're around 13 or 14, but it didn't do anything for me standing on its own, let alone as a "shipping" book.
5/10