Urgent Coinstar report for March 2020: Eureka!

image.png
“Black birds tend to like Shiny things.” ~ The Bloody Raven

I am early for this exciting update March Report as I will have a more comprehensive quarterly report on my findings on my search progress of my local Change handling machines. And this is also a bit of a test for my first Hive post.

I am happy to report the following abbreviated findings and get right to the point.


image.png

My favorite grocery store’s Coinstar find has yielded me my first silver coin! Along with the typical junk indicating that the coins originated from a neglected coin jar by the odd items dumped into the sorting tray and obviously rejected. Aside from the pill battery and rubber washer I need not indicate the paperclip and stale popcorn kernel.


image.png

2014 2 Dollar Polar Bear Reverse, BiMetallic Elizabeth II 4th Portrait, KM# 1257, Schön# 945 Mintage of 16,305,000

1972 1 Cent Lincoln Memorial Reverse, Bronze, Obverse: Lincoln portrait, Liberty 1972, In God we trust, KM# 201, Mintage of 2,933,255,000


image.png

And now the Silver!

My Silver coin Find: 1876 - 1967 10 Cents Mackerel

image.png
Reverse: 1876 - 1967 10 Cents Mackerel Circulating Commemorative coin
2.33 g, Silver fineness 0.800
18mm Diameter, 1.21 mm thickness
reference KM# 67, Schön# 69


image.png
Obverser: Queen Elizabeth II, DG Regina
Mintage of 62,998,215
Edge: Milled

There is a particular footnote as pertaining to the silver fineness composition of this coin. The silver fineness changed from 0.800 to 0.500 past the halfway point of coin production for similar reasons when the 1968 10 cents was started in the early fall of 1967.

While the majority of 1967 10 cents are 0.800 some are 0.500, unfortunately there are no distinguishing marks to indicated whether the coin is either .800 or .500 without testing.

One proven test is the weight: 0.800 silver is 2.33g UNC and 0.500 silver is 2.18g UNC.

The @stokjockey test

image.png
Accounting for wear, this coin is identified as 0.800 Silver

And trust me as I flipped the coin over and the weight is also 2.28g, Thanks @stokjockey

Arrrh! I am so pumped up at this marvelous find!


image.png

So do yea ‘ave a Coinstar Machine near ye? Tell me wha’ Yea plundered from it or any other Change generatin’ vendin’ machine.

References

1, My own photos/pictures taken with a Samsung 8M-A530W Smartphone
P. Image under Pixabay
W Wiki Commons
R Clip art vectors from 123RF

Coinflation: Metal Values Canada


image.pngR

“Et lux in tenebris to serve laboro, sum sicarius” “I work in the shadows to serve the Light, I am an Assassin”


image.png


image.png


image.png

Sort:  

Great finds. And wow... 80% SILVER coin~ AWESOME!
Looking forward to your future "reports', sis @kerrislravenhill!
Hugss and kisses and Take care, sweet stacking sis image.png
image.png

March 2020 will be a month that will go down in my Silver Stacking history, Sis.
But you know my frustration with trying to become familiarized with new front ends and buggy transition into Hive, and perhaps he heard my travails, sense helplessness and my posting mistakes.
I heard of legends about this person back in the ole Steem days.
He came, curated, tipped his white hat then rode off into the sunset.
The town folk pondered, and the old Prospector asked "Who was that masked man?"
The woman hivesteader explained, "He says 'I am the @appreciator ma'am. I'm here to curate'" then left on his white stallion as silently as he arrived. "Tarnation, I didn't even get to thank him."

I think that March 2020 ins the month, sis @kerrislravenhill! Keep going! 🥰🌺🤙

Nice find and I always find it amazing that we all have the same scales wherever we are in the world

And I thought it was some kind of tribe standard thing.

The bronze Lincoln is 95% copper. It is worth more than $.01...

Correct @ronaldoavelino , according to coinflation it is worth $0.0195915 USD at todays date of March 24,20, or $0.028811 CAD and that's why I keep these coins that have a commodity value higher than that of the face value in my piggy bank.
Thanks for commenting!

Now I think in theory that if I avoided posting with the SteemLeo tag and via SteenLeo front end, my parallel Steem post may not migrate over to Hive. Now to figure the other Tags.