Father's Day & First Birthday rounds from Coins Australia

in #silvergoldstackers4 years ago (edited)

Woooo!!! They came!!!!

The last round I got was last year's SGS round c/o @mattclarke so it's been a while.

As I was saying in this post...

It's a big milestone year for us and after looking around I quickly came to the conclusion that gifting silver is the way to go.

Aside from the SGS community, I've only ever gotten coins from a mineral and gem show. I have trust issues with online sellers and for that reason I decided to not go nuts and only buy a couple of rounds.

Coins Australia

Coins Australia has a bricks and mortar shop in the city. Not that I knew that when I purchased my coins but knowing that now is reassuring.

I decided to try them out mainly because they offered free shipping and had the double dragon coin still in stock.

Hubby's First Father's Day Coin

I loved the design and intricate details on the dragon coin and just had to have it knowing Hubby would appreciate the details on the round. I also liked that it's limited mintage (50,000 world wide, 5,000 in Australia) ~ though at 50,000... is that really "limited"?

It felt like every site I went to was out of stock of the dragon coin. Not only out of stock but they also listed it around the 100s. Coins Australia sold it for $70AUD so I couldn't exactly pass it up.

When I did get it, I did wonder if the pricier ones came with a COA or a nice gift box.

Bella's First Birthday Coin

Coins Australia, unfortunately, didn't have the 2019 Chinese Panda in stock otherwise I would have gotten that. But this Lion King 25th Anniversary round with Simba on Pride Rock seemed a great alternative. It's also limited mintage but with 25,000 coins worldwide.

Still missing the COA but I guess I'm just spoiled with the Steem Rounds? I'm guessing not all coins come with a COA?

Overall I'm pretty happy with my purchase.

I placed my order on the 18th, received the AusPost shipping info on the 20th and they arrived today which is the 24th.

The rounds are great, they came in a capsule (I wasn't sure if they were or not), they were packed well... Nothing really to complain about except the lack of COA..

I've got 1 more round to get and that's my 40th birthday round. I haven't decided which one to get and where from. I'm thinking of trying another place just so I have more supplier options in the future.

The biggest regret I have in the last year was falling off the stacking wagon. When I started stacking rounds were about $30~35 per oz, now I'd be lucky to find 1oz for $50.

They've definitely proven their solid investment value!

I'd like to get a few more before they reach $100 per oz.

❤🧸1️⃣

Sort:  

Bilge Rats, I keep forget to get the Double Dragon ever since it came out.
It will have to be in the Secondary market now. Pft.

Hopefully it's still available in shops where you are. It took a bit of looking around to find them. Or maybe see if coins aus will ship to you?

Typically only Proof coins come with a COA. It’s extremely rare for anything over 3-5K mintage ever has a COA. What is considered semi-numismatic with mirages under 50K are technically still considered bullion coins. Love the double dragon.

Ahhh thanks for clarifying! I'll definitely keep an eye out for the ones with the COA. Yeh the double dragon is really nice. The picture doesnt do it justice.

Most of the coins with COA’s are way over priced and will be hard to ever make a profit on. Only about 5-10% of them ever appreciate. Just trying to help. Find a reputable dealer and buy bullion coins.

Yay!!! Too bad about the panda though. Who knew they would be so elusive?

Most coins don’t have COA’s. The ones with COA’s are usually limited mintage and the COA makes them cost more.

Oh! When people are allowed to move about again you should visit the Royal Australian Mint in Canberra. You can order from their website I think and shop right at the mint. They have fun clad coin books and their own silver coins. And seeing the displays of old coins is fun.

Yeh. Spewing about the panda. I'm still seriously considering it though lol. How can I go past a bear? 🐼

Would having the COA be worth the extra $ in the long run? I imagine so? 🤷🏻‍♀️

Ooo I will add that to the to do/see list. Sure beats going to the perth mint. Might check out their website now! Thanks love!

Pretty. Shiny. Bling :)
I've decided I don't stack royalty/rulers/politicians faces. Would definitely stack Simba though.

Yeh. I was swinging that way too but it's hard to find one without a face at the back. There's a few independent pourers I like in the USA AND Canada but the postage is crazy.

Wow, now you're talking about it I can see that stacking is kinda cool - but I ALWAYS miss out on those opportunities...like the OMG thing earlier this week - hot damn.

It's awesome! I like having a back up plan money wise plus it's great if you generally like collecting things, at least you know these will, at the very least, hold their value over time.

What OMG thing?!!! I'm out of the loop! Sounds exciting!