Local Coin Shop Find 10-30-2021

in #silvergoldstackers2 years ago

Back int the 1980s, the Hunt Brothers, Nelson Bunker Hunt, William Herbert Hunt, and Lamar Hunt tried to buy all the Silver in the world. They managed to lose over a Billion US Dollars and go bankrupt, in their attempt. The United States assisted in disrupting the price of the Silver Market Silver, by selling its, "U.S. Strategic Stockpile Silver, stored at the U.S. Assay Office - San Francisco".
IMG_4600.jpg
The Continental Coin minted many of these Silver Rounds, from the Defense Logistics Agency's 160 million+ Troy Ounces of Silver.
IMG_4604.jpg
Thanks for looking at these historical Silver Trade Units, 31.1 Grams, 0.999 Silver, found at The Local Coin Shop. Apparently there are Similar Silver Bars, in different sizes. Check out other Stackers Silver Treasures on #silvergoldstackers.

Sort:  

I've never seen that inscription before!
Although it doesn't mean a thing... there many, many, many silver I have not seen, hehe 😁

Thanks again for looking, SILVER SAVER - @silversaver888. You have some pretty cool stuff, yourself. I've been watching.

Oh... we all have stuff!

I'm talking about the good stuff.

I picked up the same round from my LCS last year.
I forgot what I paid for it but I'm sure you paid a better price than I did.

Thanks for looking, @kerrislravenhill. I think I paid just under $30(USD).

Love the vintage silver trade units. Fantastic score

Thanks again for looking & commenting, @silverd510. Seems I remember someone showing some "Silver Trade Units" a while back, in #steemsilvergold. I wonder if they are the same?

Back int the 1980s, the Hunt Brothers, Nelson Bunker Hunt, William Herbert Hunt, and Lamar Hunt tried to buy all the Silver in the world.

This is some mad money right here

Thanks for looking, Bhosa - @bhoa. Yes, it seems to be getting wilder, every day.