You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do you say to a teenager caught smoking?

in #smoking4 years ago

My mum use to throw tantrums when my elder brothers came home smelling like cigarettes. One of them quit after he found Jesus in his mid 30s, and the other one still smokes but only occasionally.

I've met a few teenagers that smoke and I honestly have no clue what to say to them to make them stop. However, I just describe the health risk of smoking and if the person still wants to continue, that's not on me..

I drink quite a lot too and so, I'm not even sure if I'm the right role model to listen to on the topic. I grew up seeing my parents drink and use to steal shots of whiskey and gin when I was like 12. Now I'm older, and drink quite a lot, my mum tries to stop me from drinking, while drinking, it is really funny.

In hindsight though, I say you handled it pretty well, considering the circumstances. You just have to be honest in the situation and the best you can do is inform her of the consequence of smoking.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

Thanks man :)

...I'm not even sure if I'm the right role model to listen to on the topic...

It's how I feel, as an ex-smoker who was in her shoes a fair few years ago.

I'm sure she's boozing with mates at times, but I got in earlier this year with that one, although I'm not sure if she was listening or not :)

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.