You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do you say to a teenager caught smoking?

in #smoking4 years ago

I am lucky my son does not like smoking but some friends have faced the same situation you are. One of them told me what he did, and I thought it could be a good way to face it.
All he did was look for images on the internet showing the lungs of smokers and how they get affected. Then, he sat with his son in front of the computer and showed him the consequences we do not see when we smoke but are real.

Not sure if it worked but an image (or several) tells much more than 1000 words. :)

Sort:  

Your son is smart :)

The images are pretty brutal, and here they are on the packs. I have trouble relating even now, so I'm not sure how most teens would fare.

!ENGAGE 25

They are in the packs here too, but I am afraid the impact on the packs is useless. It is more impacting showing them videos or real people lungs with the individuals talking. It is probably the same as drinkers face whenever they are sent to a talk of someone in a wheelchair telling them what happened to them for drinking and driving.
Unfortunately, we are so used to images and movies we do not get "hit" by reality unless it is someone we can interact directly with.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.