You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smart Media Token Development

in #smt6 years ago

Will we be able to change the settings of the token over time, or are they fixed at launch? Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere.

Let's say I wanted to change the inflation rate, or the max tokens settings a few months or years in. Can I change that if the size of the userbase and interest in the token grows?

To me, one of the most important things that will make a token and whatever community utilizes it successful will be fine-tuning the economics of the token itself, so the ability to respond dynamically to circumstances as they unfold is high on my wishlist.

Will we be able to re-issue tokens in series, similar to other token sales or icos?

Will there be convertibility options between tokens, like there is for steem to tokens? For example if two communities or apps agree, then they can have their tokens be converted at a certain rate between the two sets of tokens.

Will we be able to add other tokens to our community's voting weight if they aren't the token issued for the original community? I think that would be a very nice feature.

For example I make token A for community B, can I add token C from community D onto the list of factors for voting strength within community B, such that community B factors in 50%/50% token A/token C? Or if community D desires, they can add token A to the voting weight of community D's voting factors?

And if so, can these voting percentages from each token be made asymmetric by each token issuer, so each community or app can choose their own weightings, so that agreements can be reached between communities of their own accord if it's found to be beneficial that voting weights don't need to be mirrors of each other?

If these settings can be changed over time, that would allow for certain communities to change the weighting of their own token-vote-power as different communities ramp up in activity, encouraging communication between communities on the social level between users, the administrative level between community managers, and the economic level for those with an interest in purchasing any tokens or considering which ones to adopt the use of.

Sorry if this has all been explained or is already being worked on, I am somewhat excited about the release and just had some ideas I thought I'd throw out there.

Sort:  

You should be able to find the answers to most questions here: https://smt.steem.io/smt-whitepaper.pdf

I see that from launch, it's immutable. I want it to be mutatable, I guess that's out of the cards.

Not sure if example two of multi-token forum support answers my questions.

I think that we should very clearly avoid all references to pegs to real-world currencies, especially the USD, both with SBDs as they are now and hypothetical future tokens in example 5. The reasons should be clear, and pegs are terrible and always fail, or rather, whichever currency can absorb the damage more will win.

Votable and advisory information is interesting, but doesn't answer my questions...

Well, at least we can re-issue icos in series.

I'd already skimmed over this before, skimmed over it again. I guess my questions are really more suggestions, because the current answer to most of them would be no, but they said they were asking us what we'd like to see in smts, so I figured I'd ask.

A workaround in all cases (or in some cases preferable solution) is to airdrop a version 2 token to all holders of the version 1 token on a 1:1 basis. Assuming the changes are viewed by the community as a clear improvement then most in not all value/interest/activity should migrate to the new token.

And the original tokens would be deprecated by their general disuse by a soft consensus of the majority? That's actually a pretty good workaround, and much less of a hassle as far as how much a technical timesink/safety risk doing it hardcoded or allowing such on the blockchain would be. Makes sense, thanks!

Exactly.