You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We were just sketching on street, but we were treated like a criminal.

in #sndbox6 years ago

Hi @kymio, thanks for sharing this story. Incredible and shocking to see this kind of reaction to a group of well-meaning / curious artists. Of course, there's nothing wrong with this.

Kirk here, btw :)

I was in Mumbai for an architecture project in 2009. There was a fishing village I was tasked with "documenting" for a project housing styles and vernacular. As soon as we took out our sketchbooks and started drawing, everyone freaked out and ultimately we were forced to leave.

This was a small informal settlement though and they had been through relocation events in the past... so I could understand that the appearance of someone like me walking in and drawing plans would spook people into thinking that I was a surveyor.

Anyway, sometimes the reactions are valuable and add an extra dimension to the drawing. For me, I learned a lot about the history and context of the place I was studying simply through the experience of being told to leave.

Sort:  

Hello kirk! Yeah its really an eyes opener that there are this kind of problem exist. Its the fear of unknown, theyre afraid of what they dont know. So in the lights of this viral incident, it is an opportunity to share why we are doing it and assure them that we meant no harm, but even the contrary. We are studying and appreciating them to know better. :) thanks for sharing your experience! Definitely will take into account of it for our soon to launch our petition. :)