Once upon a Snookvale. P.10.

in #snook4 years ago

Snookataria

The Hive Name.png

The sun had not yet fallen to the horizon. Snook Jack and Jamie with Chichi on his knee sat patiently waiting for the sunset. Jack constantly reminding himself to look below the sunset and not at it. The calmness of the evening disrupted by the sound of barking as three dogs raced up and around the apple tree. Making a dash for the entrance to the meadow and coming to a sudden halt as Chichi let out a bark. The three dogs turned to face Chichi as she paced in position on Jamie's knee.

Jack. "I think she wants to get down and play with the dogs."

Jamie. "This little thing? They'd crush her if they stepped on her."

Snook. "Looks like she thinks your knee is too high to jump down from."

Jamie nervously placed Chichi on the ground. Not from fear for himself, but fear the tiny chihuahua would get hurt playing with the other bigger dogs. No sooner had Jamie placed Chichi on the ground and she was off over to the other dogs. Letting out one bark as she reached them and then proceeding toward the meadow entrance. Snook Jack and Jamie had to laugh as they watched her bounce in the grass instead of taking the walkway established by people taking short cuts through the meadow.

Jack. "From what I seen, that little dog there is the big dog out there."

Three sharp barks were heard and then they seen the bouncing chihuahua coming back with the original three dogs following. Chichi ran straight back to Jamie. The other three dogs lay down in front of the porch.

Snook. "I best get those guys some fresh water. They have been over at that entrance most of the day."

Jack. "I'll get a fresh bucket of water and replace the one at the entrance for the new three."

Jamie picked up Chichi and sat her back on his lap. "Looks like you are the big dog out there, boss dog eh. I think we should call you Snook Doggie Dog."

With water left out both by the porch and over by the meadow entrance. The three once again settled back into their chairs. The sun was now just tipping the tops of the trees at the far and of the meadow.

Snook. "Watch just under the trees now Jack."

Jack. "Yea I have been reminding myself not to watch the sky."

Jamie. "If yer not be minding. I'll close my eyes. Sometimes you see more with closed eyes and an open mind."

sunset.png

As the sun sank behind the treetops and time was nowhere but somewhere between day and night. Jack sat upright in his chair. unsure if he was seeing what he was seeing. "Are those stars rising? Is there a lake or pond down there reflecting the night sky?"

Jamie still sitting with his eyes closed said. "Jack, I think those are fairy's, gathering the twilight to power their wands.

Snook. "I'm glad you seen them. Not many people get to see that."

Jack. "I seen it, just not too sure what I seen."

The three dogs at the porch front let out a howl each and got three howls back from the meadow entrance before they went on their way. Jamie opened his eyes to see three tails wagging away and past the apple tree.

Snook. "That's why I can't leave this meadow Jack."

Jack. "Because of the lights, i mean fairy's at the end of the meadow?"

Snook. "Not exactly."

Jamie. "Snook's a beacon of light herself Jack."

Jack. "Yup, can't argue with that. She brings joy to everyone that comes through the meadow."

Snook. "I think he's trying to say without saying. I am one of those lights at the end of the meadow."

Jack looked at Snook, then at Jamie, Then to the end of the meadow and back again to Snook. "So you are saying, both of you are saying, that you are a real fairy like those we just seen?"

Snook. "That sounds about right."

Jack. "That explains a few things, no less confusing, but explains a few things. Not sure what it explains or how it does but the past few days make a bit more sense. You being a fairy, not sure I believe in them yet though."

Jamie. "You believe or you couldn't see them."

Jack. "So this happens every night."

Snook. "No not every night. Thirteen times a year for one week and every twenty eight time is special."

Jack. "Why every twenty eight? What makes that one so special?"

Snook. "It has to do with the lunar and mars cycle. There's not exactly 13 cycles of the moon in a year, a little less. but every twenty eight cycles it aligns with the mars cycle. On that night magic has it's greatest potential."

Jack. "This magic stuff is a lot to take in. I see your wings are back again."

Jamie. "Well, Snook Jack, I should be making a move and getting off home. I feel so bad disturbing this sleeping little fella here though." As Jamie moved forward on his chair, Chichi woke up and Jamie put her down on the porch. "I'll be back this way in the morning, on my way into town. Show some moral support."

Snook. "Night Jamie, sleep well"

Jack. "Night Jamie. Will see you tomorrow then."

As Jamie began his walk home, Chichi walked after him. Letting out low barks as she walked behind him. Turning to look Chichi would stop barking and begin again as he began to walk off again. "What's with this little fella?"

Jack. "I think she wants you to take her home with you."

Jamie knelled down "So yer wanting to come home with ol' Jamie are ye?" Chichi jumped straight into his arms. "Oh well, I guess that's a yes then." Jamie gave a wave to Snook and jack and walked around the apple tree.

Snook and Jack could hear him sing as he went along. "♫♪ ♪♫ Low lie the fields of Athenry, Where once we watched the small free birds fly ♫♪ ♪♫"

Jack. "Sounds like he is in a good mood tonight"

Snook. "It does doesn't it." After a pause for thought Snook said. "So Jack, would you like me to tell you about how I got here?"

border 1.png

Crypto Excahnge:
Ionomy:
https://ionomy.com/en/aff/d0afaf8f56804ce181c5ef5db43d4a21
Bittrex:
https://bittrex.com/Account/Register?referralCode=DHH-RXK-11E

Crypto Card Visa Blockcard
https://dashboard.getblockcard.com/i/SMvuCfUG

Discord Servers
Bro SGN: https://discord.gg/W2pdeDa
Hive Block chain Server: https://discord.gg/QxbgScK

Games
Free to play:
One Arm Bandits: https://brosgn.net?ref=923
Poker: https://brosinopoker.com
Music game: https://www.risingstargame.com?referrer=thehive

Sort:  

Oh Jan!!!

This story is getting better and better each time you add a chapter.

I am so proud of you and I needed to read this tonight. You have no idea..... or maybe you do......

Thank You from the bottom of my heart My friend!!

I can not wait to see where you take us all next. I love that you have the little dog :D

Glad you're enjoying it.

Think this is the longest story I ever wrote. 10 pages and 1,000 words a page. didn't think I would write a 10,000 word story. Or more so if asked to I'd think never be able to do that many words lol.

Each chapter is better and better.
Keep writing.
I am SO loving this story.

It makes me smile so much!!

Hi @thehive,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your current Rank (109) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 43%