Recycling Content vs Thinking

in #social8 years ago

I'm laying in bed and thinking about how much time and mental energy is sucked out of my life into certain social media platforms.

I think to "post" about it would be pointless. The site is like a soap box and everyone's got an opinion about something-- myself included! - and they will give it to you for free, which is about all it's worth. Even the most groundbreaking ideas remain idle and futile in the grasp of social media.

In order to make a change I must do different things. It is what I do, and not what I Like that defines who I am. Our affections for things are creating online identify preferences while our networks are being hidden.

Who could possibly have the time to read it all?

Sound bites are replacing speeches and summaries are replacing books. The quality of content is in the garbage. Social media has so much potential to connect us and yet it fails to enable us to construct a coherent sentence.

And if you could say to the world one thing, would they Like it? Does it matter if they do?

Let go of the Ego and the Profile.
Could we let go of it all if we tried?

The point I am illustrating as I imagined it is that when you post on social media you are throwing your ideas in the garbage. And when you share, even if what you found is pure gold, you're still putting it in another garbage can.