What in the Gold Foil Happened?!!?

About twenty four hours ago, there was a huge pump in rare gold foil cards. I was lucky enough to get one early on and have been hanging on to it. However, overnight the price of the card has jumped up about $1000!!

I'm not sure exactly why this happend...but I'm not complaining. Thank you to @goldmatters for your post that alerted me to this fantastic situation :)

The card I have is the Gold Alpha Elemental Phoenix.
Elemental Phoenix.jpg

fire.png

Upon realizing this great gift of increased market value, I was hit by a few questions.

Should I sell it?
Are there buyers?
Will it be worth more later?

I don't know the answers but, what I do know is that it is now worth approximately what it was when I first got it. That money could replace it with a non gold version and help build my deck immensely.

But then....more questions.
People can buy it with steem.....are they going to dump steem on me and come June first when Splinterlands transitions to Hive am I going to get screwed???

I think I just answered my own question.

fire.png

I had posted my card to the market but I think it may be worth waiting a week just to make sure I don't get stuck with a bunch of steem and can't unload it.

phoenix.jpg

Maybe you only get paid in DEC im not sure how the transactions work exactly. But I'll wait till June first and see how the Hive transition goes.

fire.png

Will steem still be accepted in the market?
Did I do the right thing to wait?
Should I hang onto it? Let me know :)

And as always....

Keep being Cool Splinterlanders!!


Sort:  

If you want to be paid in another crypto than STEEM and avoid possible bad deals with DEC you can post in the gold foil section on Discord, is possible to find buyers, goldmatters or other users could make offers.

Thank you for the tip.
Talking to active buyers may be the way to go. :)

Don't worry about getting stuck with steem mate! There are a lot of tricks to convert steem to hive even if the exchanges are shut. Binance is going to open up though. And i'm pretty bittrex will too, when, we don't know.

Interesting. My guess would be that some folks are using Splinterlands cards as a store of value. With lots of exchange wallets currently closed to Steem and uncertainty about the future, at least you can park some Steem in cards and then convert them to Hive at some point following Splinterlands migration.

I know cards can now be sold on Ethereum too... but I haven’t looked at it enough to know if there’s actual trading & liquidity going on there.

I think selling for Steem right now would be risky, unless you see a clear path to quickly convert to another asset through Steem Engine.

I agree. I'll wait till after June 1st and see what it looks like.

Holy shizzle, that's a lot of money for a card! Nice! No idea what you should do, though so no advice there :) Have a great Sunday!

I have the feeling finding a buyer might be hard...we'll see :)

wow! Amazing card!