SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! - [LAVA SPIDER]

in #splinterlands2 years ago


main.png

Hello everyone! It's a new week and a new battle challenge. And in this challenge, the lucky monster comes from the fire splinter. Today we'll play with the Lava Spider.

It's a ranged monster that I've used on occasions as my fire deck is still a work in progress.

This time I spiced up my play with a Yodin, and here, the snipe ability is quite helpful as the attack most likely will hit the middle of the deck, and the blast ability will do its work to surrounding monsters.


spider.png

This card starts to shine more in the silver league as, at level four, this card gains another attack point. Add another point from Yodin, and we're at three attack points for a three mana cost monster.


Not yet playing? Join the game using this link


On to the match itself.

Rules

  • Fury
  • Heavy Hitters
  • 50 mana
  • Fire, earth, death, dragon splinters allowed

It was a high mana battle, and I could fit in multiple high-cost monster cards in my lineup.

And I did do just that.

My team

(Summoner) Yodin Zaku


I picked this summoner as, at times, I like to spice up my gameplay and use top-level summoners.

Why it's a top-level card? Well, Yodin gives three buffs - +1 ranged, blast ability to all monsters, and +1 to health.

Every team in this game can be countered, but sometimes that is hard to do, especially if top-level summoners are involved.


divider.png

(Spot 1) Grum Flameblade


This legendary card was only recently introduced, and boy, it can be fun to use it.

At the moment, it's the only card that has bloodlust and is usable outside guild brawls.

Once this ability starts going, this card turns into a real beast.


divider.png

(Spot 2) Lava Launcher


This card works well with Yodin as it can work both as an off-tank and at the same time tank. That's why I placed it in the second position - to dish out some damage and also take some.

With such positioning, I had enough protection in the front.


divider.png

(Spot 3) Ferexia General


Next up I placed another ranged card from the untamed edition. On top of that, this card also has snipe ability. This goes nicely with the blast ability as it would damage other cards besides the one that is hit initially.


divider.png

(Spot 4) Lava Spider


Next up comes the star of this match - the Lava Spider. It's also a ranged card with snipe ability. By adding two snipe monsters, I wanted to put more pressure on the opponents' backline.

The only downside is that I couldn't use a level four version of this card as I played with a level one Yodin.


divider.png

(Spot 5) Tenyii Striker


Next, I added a sneak monster to trigger the blast ability also from the very end.

Unfortunately, I haven't leveled this card up, but it starts to get better after level four when it gets the dodge ability.


divider.png

(Spot 6) Gargoya Devil


Finally, in the last spot, I placed another ranged card. With some armor and flying ability, this card could absorb some hits if the opponent would go with sneak cards.


divider.png

As you can see, I picked my team so that the blast ability from Yodin would be triggered from all ends.

But what did my opponent bring to the party? Let's have a closer look.

Opponents team

My opponent went with the death splinter mixed in with two monsters from the neutral splinter.

The battle lasted just 2 rounds. Let's take a look at what happened.

round1.png

During round one, my snipe cards worked just perfectly. Ancient Lich was dead even before it made its move, and surrounding cards were severely damaged.

Gargoya Devil performed as intended and took both sneak attacks protecting other monsters down the line.

Plus, at the end of round two Grum took out two cards with a single hit - Bone Golem and Silen Sha-vi. That also boosted his stats quite considerably.

round2.png

The remaining round was just a formality as most of my cards were faster than opponents, and I had more cards remaining.


divider.png

Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time


My strategy for this match worked just perfectly. The opponent's team was dead, and I lost only a single monster.
A complete success if you ask me where nothing has to be changed for this match.

Do you like the Lava Spider? Why or why not?


It's a great card, and it can often change the course of the game. I don't use the snipe ability that much, but as you saw in this example, then snipe plus blast ability did quite some damage on the opponent.

You can see the whole fight by clicking on the image below:


round1.png

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @garzug.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for sharing! - @ashikstd

Congratulations @garzug! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 14
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!