Is Splinterlands Spellbook Worth the $10 Cost? An Honest Post

$10 Spellbook Entry

Thumbnail including three rare cards

I discovered Splinterlands when @quixoticflux was streaming it on Twitch. I used his referral link to play a couple of free games and was intrigued. Although I was a bit hesitant about the $10 Spellbook entry cost (since I was not much knowledgeable about the game), I bit the bullet using HIVE I had earned.

The spellbook purchase allows you to earn DEC (Dark-Energy Crystals, one of the Splinterlands currencies) in ranked matches, as well eligibibility to earn rewards from daily quests. Since I used a referral link, I immediately got a reward card. Lucky me, this was a Golden Albatross which comes at an a cost of around $1.30 value, so I was off to a good start.

Discovering My Old DEC

The next day I noticed I could have logged into Splinterlands using my Hive account, instead of create an account like I did. Apparently, I had around 4,500 DEC from my HIVE account, which I transferred to my new account. I used 2,000 DEC to buy a pack, from which I got no great rewards, so I was kinda bummed. Instead of buying another pack, I thought it was best to instead look at Market and purchase a card.

Since I was enjoying Water decks, I bought a lvl 6 Sea Genie, cause it looked cool and useful. That was mostly a mistake, since I soon discovered that you require higher level summoner to use higher level monsters. It wasn't all bad though - since my power rose, I could rank up to Bronze 2 this time, and this unlocked non-standard games, which made it MUCH more interesting of gameplay and decision making. (I also have now resold the Sea Genie, because I saw no purpose to holding it.)

Daily Quests

Within my second season (15 days), I played daily, completing at least the daily quest. The rewards varied, but perhaps I was on the luckier side because I achieved the following (the values are obtained as current listing price as at 31st March):

  • A Card Pack - 2,000 DEC Value (but no great cards unfortunately)
  • Ancient Lich (Legendary) - $2.96
  • Torhilo the Frozen (Epic) - $0.60
  • Spirit Druid Grog (Legendary) - $2.00
  • Nightmare (Golden) - $3.83

I was more happy with these rewards. Without expecting it, I practically made back my $10 investment. Not withstanding, the Ancient Lich in particular has helped me get into some pretty good winning streaks, which both increased my fun, my rank and my DEC income. Moreover, the Ranked Reward with 7 chests got me the following rewards:

Screenshot of Ranked Rewards
Bronze 2 Ranked Rewards

Although not of particular interest, Nectar Queen will definitely be a useful card, and Nightmare is also a duplicate I could use to combine. The 1337 DEC from one of the chests is the most worth, as this comes to around $1.00 value by itself.

Personal Aim

I am still fairly new to Splinterlands, but following the start that I had, but I am truly invested. There seems to be a higher-reward (both in fun and actual rewards) the more you invest in the game. My current goal is to purchase enough summoner cards (5) to combine into a level 2 summoner card, which would allow me to summon lvl 3 commons in matches with that summoner.

It seems that not only was the $10 worth the investment (as I was able to get it back), but I will most likely use some of the earned HIVE into Splinterlands into either purchasing some of the cards that interest me, or even a Plot of Land for the upcoming updates.

Sign-up Now and Get a Free Card

If you have not yet registered, sign-up now on this referral link to get a free card! Perhaps you get a lucky golden card too!


Links

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @marianaemilia

Hi! It's really cool that you share your experience in the game. In the beginning we always make some mistakes, but it is part of it. Splinterlands is a great adventure that has no end and you can always improve more. Good luck in battles!