Splinterlands PvP #3: TRYING TO MAKE NAGA WARRIOR WORK

in #splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

splinterlands 3.jpg

Welcome back! Here's something new, I am going to start every Splinterlands post with a pack opening.

So for today's pack, let's crack it open!

what's in the pack? can we get a legendary? let's see it!!

come on!!

LETS GO

zzPackOpened.png

Hmm.... decent.

Three rares is actually good. Not the most exciting pack -- no gold, no legendary, nothing too crazy -- but three rares is nice value for leveling up my cards or perhaps getting some DEC or selling on the marketplace. I'll take it.

Preparing To Use Naga Warrior

This week's Splinterlands featured card is Naga Warrior. I do not own this card which means it's time to head over to the marketplace and see if it is within my budget.

zzMarket.png

Abour four dollars for a card is a little pricey by my standards. I still live in my Mom's house in mild pandemic hermit mode (although normal adult life is looming, thankfully) so I'm not big on spending money on things I don't need. Frugality is a big one. Blah blah blah blah.

Luckily I've been earning a bunch more Hive than I expected in my first few weeks here :-). At the very least I can justify spending some of my HBD, especially with its inflated value right now, to grab the card, yah? Let's do it!

Spending my Hive Payouts on Splinterlands Cards

All I have to do is go to the page for buying credits, choose "crypto" and then choose Hive Dollars. After that, Hive Signer asks for my "Master Password or Private Key" (which is an OOF -- why master password??) -- I definitely did not use my master pass, instead using my Active Key. You should do the same!! It went smoothly and the transaction was done in about one minute.

zzPayment.png

Daily quests and season rewards are nice, but not that valuable for new players. This is why I find it so good to participate in the Splinterlands weekly challenge. All expenses in this post have been covered just from upvotes I've received while participating in this community project, how cool is that?

If you've ever read "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" -- this is exactly what that book talks about. Developing an income stream BEFORE spending the money. I live with my mom so I'm really not giving money advice, just pointing out that Hive enables this kind of thing.

Enough preamble -- I bought the card, let's get on to the match!!

The Naga Warrior Battle

zzBattle1LOSE-Opening.png

zzBattle1LOSE.png

This one was really close. I don't think Naga Warrior does best in the front of the team, it would be better to put it in the back of the team on a high mana battle and hope to trigger retaliate off of sneak monsters.

I remember at the end of the battle my opponent only had one monster left, with just a few health. Unfortunately the mono red aggro strategy with the Blast Ranged attacks and high speed Opportunity kills was just enough to push through my team's defenses.

My biggest takeaway from this battle, more than Naga Warrior, is that Demented Shark is a card I have underrated. Inspire is a very strong mechanic alongside those stats and a total 7 health.

Final Thoughts

Wrapping things up on a completely unrelated note except it's also in the water splinter: every time I look at Ice Pixie I am reminded that it is maybe the best 2-drop in the game. 5 Stats for 2 mana PLUS flying? Wow!!

zz02-icepixieOP.png

If this hasn't been a weekly card yet, I think it could be. SO STRONG!!

That's all I got for this post, see ya next week for more splinterlands excitement.

Sort:  

Congratulations @quixoticflux! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice

awesome write up my friend! I love naga warrior no matter how old it gets. Thanks to the rage + retaliate combo! Thanks for sharing your awesome content mawit. Keep playing splinterlands.