Splinterlands Furious Chicken 3D Print Review

in #splinterlands3 years ago

image.png

So I saw these 3D prints on the official @splinterlands Discord: https://discord.gg/W4H2rXY a few weeks ago. Ive always been into model making and thought they looked really cool. It reminded me of those little pewter D&D figures I use to paint as a kid.

I saw that Dino AKA DigitSpin was selling these and with my airbrush skills I thought I'd give it a SPIN! (Link Below to buy one of three versions)

So about 2 weeks later I received the unpainted figures, I bought two. One to keep and one to paint.

Here is my review:

Both figures came separately in white cardboard boxes and shipped via USPS. Inside they were packed very well, the actual figure box was inside flanked by pieces of foam. PLUS points for this, as some one who has shipped on ebay since 1995, I know a good packing job when I see it. This also prevents objects poking the outer box and damaging the prized contents inside.

The actual figure box is heat shrinked in plastic and was made with a blank white box and some printed photo paper or stickers of some kind. Nice touch, gives the homemade feel to the whole thing. Box is clearly marked either, Unpainted, Gold or Painted. I bought two of the Unpainted versions. Shout out to Dino who emailed after my order to double check thats what I wanted. He also wanted to know when I finish painting to show it off. Oh...I will.

Inside I was very surprised, THIS IS BIGGER THAN I THOUGHT. Even though it states four inches on the sales listing, it looks bigger. It has some good weight and appears to be one solid piece. Figure was loose in the box wrapped in soft foam, so its not going anywhere.

Now my only criticism about this whole piece is I feel I'll need to do a lot of prep work before I can paint it. To do a professional paint job, you need smooth spots as possible. As you can see there is lots of loose left overs from the 3D print and some uneven spots like in the back of the tail. I'm guessing 45-60 extra minutes of work to make it paint ready. See photos below. I don't know what happened there.

But over all a great piece and can't wait to paint it! I think both pieces shipped was around $115 and well worth the money, you can find the link below.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below and if you plan to purchase one of these! Thanks.

http://drpropstudios.com/splinterlands-furious-chicken-mini/

image.png
(Not my paint job, this is the stock photo on the website)

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

that's pretty cool! I have to admit I use my golden one nearly every battle for some easy bonus DEC!

Very cool, thanks for the review and close up pics! I haven't decided yet if I want to buy one of these or hold out for the upcoming Yodin Zaku. I'll probably get the painted versions since my artistic skills are fairly lacking. Will be interested to see how your paint job comes out!

super cool upvoted!

Very Cool, Thanks for the review!

Probably some residual from the printed support? Looks really cool though and I've seen way worse to be honest!