A slippery Serpent, that definitely packs a punch. A @splinterlands share your battle challenge

Screenshot_20200323_084435.jpg

It's another SHARE YOUR BATTLE CHALLENGE brought to you by the amazing curation team over at @splinterlands. Every week the #splinterlands curation team asks us to share a battle we've been involved in where we have either used a specific monster or certain battle rule was playable.

This week @carrieallen has asked us to share a battle involving this slippery sea snake:

Serpent of Eld

Screenshot_20200323_081448.jpg

I'm cutting this one fine, but hopefully I'll just get this one in on time?!? The reason for my lateness is because up until yesterday I didn't own a Serpent of Eld! I was hoping to have picked one up by now in a pack or reward, but one never showed. So I did what any #splinterlands player would do - I bought a few... I bought 14 in fact and combined it to a level 3 monster. As @carrieallen mentioned in the original SYBC blog, for such a cheap monster, it has some major plus points.

  • Strong in attack with +4 Melee
  • Very quick with 4 Speed
  • Good health and shield

Now I'm still getting used how best to play this new monster. My first impression is that with its shields and its DODGE buff, it probably would be best suited in the tank position. Now that I've just said that, watch below how I don't use it in that position...

Screenshot_20200323_080814.jpg

I do love a SYBC blog, but I also like to try and win as many battle as I can in hopes of reaching the DIAMOND leagues. With that being said, I always looked to include the Serpent of Eld when ever I though the timing was right. My first few experiences of playing it in the tank position didn't quite pan out as expected, and it fell pretty quickly.... So when this battle rule presented itself I went back to a tried and trusted method of the spineback turtle in the first slot and added extra muscle behind.

Screenshot_20200323_080749.jpg
Watch this battle unfold HERE

With thorns in the front and at the rear, I gave myself the best possible chance of winning this, even though I was completely distracted by 1/2pint and 1/4pint screaming the house down at the time of playing this battle, hence why the team is a complete mish-mash of melee and magic!!

Looking at the line up now, I would swap the turtle and sea monster around. I assumed that the sea mons3would at least survive one round and use "heal", but it's slow speed meant it fell pretty quick. I'm sure if the front and end were swapped then my turtle would have fallen just as quick, but I could have used my sea monsters attack for a better use.

I also see that my opponent @mirelia has lower level monsters which probably saved me from a heavy defeat....

As I said above, distractions meant I rushed my final battle selection, knowing I have much better monsters I could have played. I'm happy to have picked up the WIN and I'm rather chuffed I now have an extra weapon in the serpent of Eld to use for future battles.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcN7VgCRshHTFasMxUhk4MEYfJDpWM4ds5mJ9MsceC2UHE68LMq66gfLNoNxtwTsCE9Uq198USVktkAoY7qGXLpL2u3pi.png

What is everyone's favoured position for their Serpent?? Is he your go-to tank, or possible an elusive tail guaurd defender?

Screenshot_20191130_075100.jpg

Sort:  

So... yes. I find that the Eld as a tank is good BUT I've now seen several sticking it in 2nd position... almost like you're making the enemy feel safe. Muahahahahah!

But.... yes...if not for your weaker opponent ya might of lost that one.
Props for getting a lineup out at all with 1/2 pint and 1/4 pint running amock. 🤣