My first semi-marathon

in #sport4 years ago


La French Tech team ran for diabetes

Last Sunday, I've participated in my first semi-marathon, and although I was walking like a duck for the two following days, it was a great experience!

I've started training 3 months ago but the SteemFest was right in the middle and since it took me a few weeks to recover... well, I was not in the best shape at the beginning of this month. I've started running more and more (damn, I should have been using @actifit) and reached my 15km target only a few days before the race.

My objective was to run at a conservative pace of around 9km/h and hold it for at least the first 17-18km and then do what I can to crawl to the finish line, not glorious I know but that was already much my current longest run. I thought I d be satisfied if I could finish in less than 2h30.


Near the finish line, at the foot of Taipei 101

I went to Taipei with one of my friends who already ran semi and even a marathon before, and he told me "you ll see, you ll run until the end, and faster". Well, he was right, there was such a positive energy during the race than I never stopped running and ended up running the 21.1km in 2h11. All along the race that started and finished at the feet of Taipei 101, there were people cheering for the 15,000 runners, high-fiving us, holding "Touch for Power" boards,etc. It was really awesome to see how we were pushing each other to the finish line and how everyone was competing against oneself rather than against the others.

I have been amazed by a few professional marathonians that passed the finish line before me (the 42km marathon only started 30 minutes before the semi), they re the real deal!

After that, it was time (9:30 am) for a picninc in the nearby park with some good red wine (we are french after all).

In the end, I liked it so much that I already registered for my next one on March 1st in Tainan, and am looking forward to beat the 2 hours bar.

Steem on!

@stoodkev

Sort:  

Hi @stoodkev,

After reading your Hive story I drop by from time to time to see if you have written something new on your blog. However, I decided to go back in time (on your blog though 😅) and I came across this beautiful post.

I resonated so much with this one as I was an athlete. Most of the races I took part in back in High School were long-distance races suitable for our age at the time, such as 1,500m and 3,000m. I always aimed to run a marathon someday but had surgery and was required to heal for years before going back on track.

It was really awesome to see how we were pushing each other to the finish line and how everyone was competing against oneself rather than against the others.

This statement right here is a gem.

It can be likened to the race of life with emphasis on running your life's race while supporting others as much as you can and striving to be better than your previous self or track record not in comparing oneself to others.

There are indeed so many life lessons to learn from running.

I already registered for my next one on March 1st in Tainan,

You did not do a follow-up post to this. Did you eventually participate? If yes, how was your experience?

Hope you can get back on the track soon! =)

I actually injured myself before the next one so had to pass that one out. I've been running a few Spartan races recently, the last one being in Kaohsiung last week end. The race and obstacles themselves were as usual, but doing it under 34C made it really tough!

Hope you can get back on the track soon! =)

I am looking to start training next month.
Nothing heavy for now but baby steps.

I actually injured myself before the next one so had to pass that one out.

Oh my. I am so sorry about that!

but doing it under 34C made it really tough!

I can imagine.
Must have been a struggle to maintain breath control and dehydration is inevitable.

Tales of a runner 👌

Thats a great achievement man! Im proud of you! This calls for a sangsom celebration lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks man! Sangsom next sunday ! =D

Congrats on making it through the semi-marathon. I haven't started training yet, but I want to run one with my brother this coming year.

Thanks! You should, it s really an amazing experience!

Hi, @stoodkev!

You just got a 100% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @stoodkev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout on one day

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Best of luck for next run... I know one person from my office he also run (for full as well as ultra also).
I can't even think about so much running.

What a great accomplishment @stoodkev :) Congratulations! And there's me being proud I am now walking the dogs for at least 2 hours a day lol. BUT, we all have to start somewhere right?
Taipei looks so nice! I didn't expect it to be so green.