Tonight's UFC: My hopes

in #sports2 years ago

January is always a long wait for good UFC fights. They tend to not put anything special in the beginning of the month for what I think it a combination of holidays and not wanting to compete with college football maybe. The time between good events is too damn long between Dec and Jan if you ask me.

But now in just a few hours we have a cracker of a PPV.... sort of.


image.png
src

The main event features a guy that I kind of like and a guy that I really don't like. I find Ciryl Gane to be one of the most boring fighters of all time in UFC and I am hoping that Ngannou flattens him. I also realize that Gane's boring aspects come from the fact that he is very calculating on when he is going to engage and that is probably why he is undefeated. Yeah yeah, I understand that this is a big part of how the game is won, but it doesn't mean I have to like it.


image.png
src

There's more to tonight's fights than just that potential dancing contest though. Figueiredo and Moreno should be a real winner as this back and forth saga continues between the two. This is a tough one to call but I believe that Figueiredo will win by KO or get KO'd trying to make it happen. He has a lot to prove with this fight and I think that it will be more exciting than the main event - not that this would be particularly difficult to accomplish.

As for the rest of the card I can't say that I am terribly excited about any of it really. The Brunson / Cannonier fight could end up being really important though since if either one of these guys puts on an amazing show and wins by finishing the other person, it could set them up for a title shot later on in the year.

So I am off to the sports bar to watch this with friends and for all of you UFC fans out there I hope you end up enjoying it! Let's hope that Ngannou can force Gane to actually fight a bit. :P

Sort:  

I actually like Gane. I haven't watched any of his fights prior to Today but his cool, calm and calculating demeanor is something I strongly admire.

It's a shame that he lost. But he forced Ngannou to change his usual strategy and improvise so that's proof of his quality

well cool, calm, and calculating in Gane's case means boring IMO. His strategy of dance away from you then rush in for a punch attempt followed by a hug, then returning to dancing away from you over and over again is something that while it has worked for him in the past isn't very entertaining for me to watch. Was there even a single significant strike landed in the first round at all? I exaggerate of course but I was happy to see Ngannou take Gane to the ground where he can't run away anymore :)

I feel as though Moreno was robbed on the decision as well.