Welding part 1

in #ssglife2 years ago

Hi Hivers,

I wanna be a bit more independent and already installed some solar panels myself. These are attached to a litium battery feeding laptop, outside lights (AC 230 volts) and phone chargers (DC USB). Works fine and is earned back slowly (9 or 10 years).

Next project was welding!

I bought a second hand welding machine (trafo):

las.png

I also bought me some steel plates (damn the 2plates are as expensive as the whole welding machine).

The machine came with 2 mm welding electrodes so I started to make some first attempts.

What happened?

Started with 70A :
The 2 mm electrodes stick to the iron each time and that normally means you have to increase Amperage. I tried 80 A but when I powered up ... the fuse went out of my kitchen group.

I did not try again but instead will order some 1,6 mm electrodes and hopefully they will melt at 70 A. Otherwise it will be bye bye again for the welding machine and maybe I buy an invertor welder. Hobbies are costly!

The invertors (from 180 USD) weigh 5 kilo instead of Trafo welder weighing 20 kilo and have a hot start feature.
I did use rutile electrodes and these start easy. Yeah right !

Bye
Goldrooster

Sort:  

I will make a picture of mine next time. It has no wire feed. You mean mig/mag and that has gas. The amperage I do not know for that one.

Can you add gas to this wire feed welder? Usually that will help you weld at a lower amp…😊

You received an upvote of 98% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.