Local Mural

in #ssglife4 years ago

IMG_20191213_164308287~3.jpg

This mural is on the side of a local coffee drive-through in my town. The art is a recent addition to the local landscape, and I can't help but think it's a response to some of the recent happenings in the area.

This particular corner has had a pretty contentious couple of years. It all started a few years back when a national chain pharmacy started buying up property from smaller businesses. They were able to secure all the land surrounding the corner, but not the very corner lot, which is home to an ice cream shop that has been there for at least 50 years. They made an insane offer for the land, but the ice cream shop held out. There was even a local fundraising campaign to save the ice cream shop. So long story short, construction commenced right next to and all around the ice cream shop.

In addition to the pharmacy, other retail spaces were built on the lot, and one of those tenants turned out to be everyone's favorite PNW-based coffee chain. So now the local coffee place across the street is worried, I think.

Part of me wants to believe that whichever coffee place is better will win out. But in my heart I know that's not true. My town is a tourist town. The vast majority of our economy is based around temporary visitors. People traveling often will choose a name they recognize over a one-off local place. And even people who live here year round will choose a national brand. My town does have a pretty fierce local business contingent, so they do have a shot, but I suspect it's only a matter of time before both the coffee shop and the ice cream shop shut their doors for good. It's sad, but it's the way of things everywhere.

But the one good thing that did come out of all of it is the mural. I get to see it every day on my way home from work.

Sort:  

Are those werewolves related to the pharmacy?
!trdo

Lol, I think they are robot cats. I'm honestly not sure what they are meant to represent.

Congratulations @ronaldoavelino, you successfuly trended the post shared by @methus!
@methus will receive 0.74537213 TRDO & @ronaldoavelino will get 0.49691475 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @methus, your post successfully recieved 0.74537213 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@ronaldoavelino earned : 0.49691475 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site