Chapter Eight - Lady of the Crypt (Star Wars SWTOR Fanfic)

in #starwars3 years ago

Everyone was quiet as they all sat in the Krayt Dragon‘s cockpit, staring at the blue lines of hyperspace.

‘Much rests in your hands now, Fane,’ said Shadie. She took his hand. ‘Should anything happen to me, to us, you are the only one who can be in charge of this mission. Now and later. You are the Mandalorian liaison; you are also now the one who is to be in contact with Supreme Chancellor Emain. He knows to expect you to contact him. Hopefully, Knarf can slice something somewhere on Relsor’s ship that can help Emain trace his armada.’

‘I guess I should give him the coordinates to where we are “meeting” Relsor,’ said Fane.

‘It will prove a good point of reference to begin attempting jumps and tracings,’ said Knarf.

Fane looked over at the man and nodded. He quickly sent the coordinates via his datapad, knowing Emain would receive them instantly. Shadie took both Fane’s hands and he turned his attention back to her.

‘If anything should happen while we are in captivity, regardless of our new powers, you will be the only one with those powers. If I should die…’

‘Don’t think that way!’ said Fane.

‘Okay, if anything should go wrong, then you are the only one with the power of the Crypt, you are the only one who will not be in captivity with the power to be Master of the Crypt, or as good as.’

‘I can’t do that, I can’t take it away from you, Master,’ said Fane.

‘First of all, you will not be taking it away from me, and secondly, I am no longer your master.’

‘What?’ Fane was shocked. He didn’t understand. ‘Have I done…’ Shadie shook her head, causing him to pause.

‘You don’t need me anymore. Not as a master. You are a Jedi. I’ve already asked Master Herl’unik to recognise you as such. He already granted you the title of Jedi Knight, but now you are a full Knight who no longer needs his master. You are not a boy, nor the young man I met who was trying to kill me when he was still lost and searching himself. You are a man, a grown man, Talyc’s man, and he is so lucky to have you. I am so proud of you. I love you, Fane, in a sisterly sort of way, you know.’

‘Yeah, I know.’ Fane smiled. ‘Thank you, for everything. I’ll miss you. I’ll miss all of you.’

‘We love you too,’ said Brenum.

‘I just… I’ve never shared with anyone anything like I’ve shared with all of you,’ said Fane. ‘Promise me you’ll do everything in your power to stay alive.’

‘Oh, of course,’ said Shadie. I’m Master of the Crypt. I’m not going to delegate that privilege to you that easily.’ Fane heard the humour in her voice and laughed.

‘We’re approaching vector,’ said Brenum, as they dropped out of hyperspace. ‘I’m going to miss this ship.’

‘She’ll be waiting for you, eager for your return,’ said Lian.

‘You can try to sound less sarcastic,’ said Brenum.

‘Who’s being sarcastic? I mean it.’ Lian smiled. ‘I’ll have her mostly on autopilot as I work on keeping Relsor’s powers in check.’ He turned to face Fane. ‘Good luck in there. I’ll see you shortly. The rest of you, I wish you the best of luck, I truly mean that. Stay alive and may the Force serve you.’

They nodded. Fane felt excitement, he was eager to get the mission over with, anticipating the moment he would reunite with Talyc, yet dreading the moment he would leave his friends behind.

* * *


‘They approach,’ said Relsor, his face grim. He looked at the looming image of the Krayt Dragon as it approached the docking port. ‘And they are not alone.’

‘Oh, good,’ said Perce, ‘they brought the whole group of friends. The more the merrier, I say.’

‘No, not them,’ said Relsor. ‘Yes, they are present, but he is here. Jedi Master Lian, the one who can thwart and avert my abilities.’ Relsor shook his head.

‘Our little failed Sith lied to us,’ said Perce. ‘Is it any surprise? We knew it was a possibility.’

‘Indeed it seems he has. They mean to make this a rescue mission,’ said Relsor.

‘Then we must do everything in our power to ensure that they fail,’ said Perce.


Continue reading Chapter Eight

Catch up on previous Star Wars Fan-Fiction from the Shadie story series.


Perhaps you’ll also enjoy Stardust Destinies I: Variate Facing; fantasy action-adventure taking place in a realm strong with magic where prophecies are dictated by dragons. http://binkyproductions.com/stardustdestinies