Giveaway | Share your KID story

in #steammonsters5 years ago (edited)

boots-774533_1280.jpg


Hey Steemers,

Months ago, I wrote a post about Always the Runner-Up. Never the Winner.
A Haiku Contest hosted by @vdux.






SUCCESS!!

I finally did it!

I am now a proud member of the Haiku Hall of Champions.


The theme was kids and it just so happened to be my suggested theme... hmm... coincidence? No. Just skill, baby! That, and I know kids. Kids are crazy.
This is my winning Haiku.


Killer appearance.
Incredibly innocent.
Devils in disguise.




It may or may not be based on my kids... or kid... one in particular... some may call Damien from time to time... I would say she’s a handful, but it's more like four hands-full.

So, recently my kid was sick and one of the biggest challenges as a parent is giving medicine to a toddler who refuses to take it. This kid pulls off something straight out of the exorcist to avoid her meds with us. We’ve tried all the tricks from sweet talk/reasoning and bribery to hiding it in food. Nothing worked for us, except having other people do it. For some stupid reason, if it was NOT one us (the parents), there was no problem. No fight. No mess. But having someone else around to give our kid meds wasn’t always an option, so as much as it pained us to do this 2 to 3 times a day, this was our only method that worked.

PARENT 1:
1 . Lay toddler down.
2 . Hold down arms and legs (to stop the flailing and kicking)
3 . Keep head up and still (to stop the whipping back and forth)

PARENT 2:
4 . Plug nose to get mouth open
5 . Inject medicine into the side of cheek slowly with a syringe (avoid choking)
Careful! Inject too much at a time and risk a face, hair, and body full of medicine.

PARENT 1 and 2:
6 . Praise kid for taking meds and provide water and sweet treat to stop the crying
7 . Relax. It’s done. Everything is rainbows and sunshine again.
8 . Repeat process at next scheduled dose.

On the sixth day, she shocked us. She decided to happily take her medication on her own... with a big SMILE on her face. As if those other days, she was just screwing with us... Either way, we were just HAPPY we didn't have to make her take it again.

Gotta love’m! Cause if we don’t... who will?

You got a crazy kid story? Share it with me and WIN 1 of 3 common @steemmonster rewards cards.

Sea Genie.png

Cards will be sent at post payout.


FURC.gif


Sign up for Kryptonia and earn SUP coins.
@kryptonia, @superiorcoin


You don't know what @steemmonsters are yet?

Check it out here or learn everything you need to know about how to play here.

Reel-White.gif
Content by @poyim

Sort:  

Nope, you earned this one!

LOLOL, I used to have a neighbor who had two little kids, and when we met, her daughter Alicia (Damian) was three, and Adam, her angel child, was not quite two.

Alicia's usual demeanor, when you tried to put her to bed, or any other time she wasn't getting her way, was to throw a temper tantrum similar to your gif above. While screaming. Piercingly and at the top of her lungs. Practically forever.

Then there was Adam, who almost never misbehaved, was always in good humor, and he adored me. And I him.

But he couldn't pronounce my name, Cs and Rs being tough for little guys, so he came up with a novel solution: he simply called me Mommy. And his mom, far from being upset about it, thought it was hilarious, and even encouraged him.

We hung out all the time, as I lived in the guest house behind her, and we used to have mad backgammon tournaments and card games on a regular basis. And there was a lot of joking from her that it was time to feed "my" kid, and the like, but it was true that wherever I was, there too was Adam. He was my shadow.

My Newfy, Ebony, absolutely adored him.

It did lead to one really funny incident. I was going out with a guy for the first time, and he elected to pick me up at my house.

And sure enough, as I was walking out to greet him, just before I opened the gate, Adam came running out of his back door, threw his arms around my leg, loudly exclaiming, "Mommy!"

The look on the guy's face was priceless, and when I explained that, no really, this is my neighbor's kid, and he just can't pronounce Cori, he just looked at me like, "Uh huh. Sure he is."

Needless to say that was our first and last date. Still don't think it was much of a loss. ;-)

When I ultimately moved across town, a year or so later, Virginia called me one day, and said, "Your son misses you."

And I missed him too. Badly. I wish we hadn't lost touch. I would have taken that kid in a heartbeat. He was my little love.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha. That’s a funny awkward first date story. Seems to me, the kid just saved you from a second date (or relationship) with that Loser.

My nephew and niece sometimes used to accidentally call me mommy when they were younger because my sister and I look a lot a like. The small surprise on their face when they discovered I was NOT mommy was priceless. Haha.

Cute kid. I think you should definitely get back in touch and pay them a visit next chance you get. You never know. They might be surprised, but happy to see you again.

Thank you so much for sharing this story with me. :)

Yeah, when the Internet first came on the scene I did try to find them, but no such luck.

And Adam was still so young when I last saw him that it would be a miracle if he remembers me. But who knows, I'll try again.

And, I had the same reaction, that Adam probably saved me a lot of trouble with that guy. I'd love to have seen Ebony's response to him, but it was almost dark, so I had left her inside.

when the Internet first came on the scene

Oh wow. This is an older story than I imagined. lol.

Well, you tried and at the very least, you got a great story and a memorable one too.

__
Since you are the only one who responded to my post, I've sent you 2 Steem Monster cards. So, thank you and good luck in battle!

Thanks very much.

And yeah, I moved from that house in Dec 1980, so Adam could well have grown kids of his own by now. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

BEST !
Nice gif - can not stop looking at it.... My son is 8 but he ALWAYS do what I tell him. Always.

Congratulations @poyim! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!