March Busy Bee - Part 2

in #steem-music6 years ago (edited)

This is the 2nd part of my March Busy Bee series. It is to document what i've been up to for the whole month of March. In case you missed it, here's part 1.

So the 2nd weekend of March..

I was in Penang!

For a songwriting competition “与你有乐”2018 青年词曲音乐创作大赛

28168051_1693845690661479_522181763419272905_n.jpg
Image Source
This competition is organized by PYDC (Penang Youth Development Corporation), as an effort to create a platform for younger generation who loves music creation and for them to display their musical talents.

How does this songwriting competition goes about?

  1. Songwriters will submit their self-composed original song demo (lyrics + melody). Any song theme.
  2. Judges will select the songs based on criteria: 20% Originality, 40% Lyrics, 40% Melody.
  3. Judges will shortlist the songs to Top 12.
  4. Songwriters are to present their songs publicly. It can be in a solo, duet, or band setting.
  5. Judges will then judge the song again with criteria: 25% Lyrics, 25% Melody, 25% Song Arrangement, 25% Live Musicianship

So my friend's song were in the finals! So I'm there to help my friend to sing his original song with a band. I had previously shared the same experience with helping another friend here too.

So what is this song about?

Its a heartbreaking, sad love song :( Its a song about how a person is reminiscing the past, and telling herself not to miss this person again. This is the interpretation I got from the songwriter. I made a rough translation below. Pardon me, Chinese lyrics are hard to translate. >.<

我在想你,没有再想你 (I miss you today, but not again tomorrow )

作词 Lyricist : 王依婷 Ee Theng
作曲 Composer: 余清俊 Cheng Chun

听轻轻的雨滴 在耳际 顽皮
Listen to the gentle raindrops
是不是像一支 凄美的 旋律
Doesn't it sound like a beautiful melody?
你离开的痕迹 还在这里 一直提醒
I can still find traces of you here
而我 遗失了 最初的勇气
But I have lost my courage

可不可以 那天没有相遇
I wish we didn't meet the other day
我还是相信我是你的唯一
I'll still believe I'm your only one
可不可以 装作没有关系
Can we pretend all of these doesn't matter
微笑着把她当成透明
I'll smile and treat her as transparent

我没有在想你 没有再想你的气息
I'm not missing you
只对我温柔的一字一句 不会让我受一点委屈
Just recall of your gentle words, you would never let me feel upset
我没有在想你 欺骗自己才不会沾湿了眼睛
I'm not missing you, I'll deceive myself this way so I wouldn't cry
没有在想你 只是在想回忆
I'm not missing you, just thinking of the memories

我们的曾经 都是相爱的证据
Our past, is the evidence of our love
怎么变成 心痛不已的原因
How did it change and caused me heartbreak now

Click the image to watch the video

This is one of the hardest song I sang

I've once heard from a mentor...

"You have to breathe your own breath to the song, feel every words and make this song your own." - Winnie Ho

In other words, to sing your version of this song. Just so you know, when I receive the demo from my songwriter friend, I can't really hear the actual melody as he didn't sing on pitch. So most of the time, I have to create my own melody, think what suits well to this song. I'm not a pro, but I'm exploring and just try whatever that pops in my mind.

29062525_10213787916386027_3688280329098887168_o.jpg
Source Image
To drive the song emotionally from really soft & careful in the beginning, and way up to real loud & liberating at the end, is not an easy task. As the lyrics goes.. I'm missing you today, and not again tomorrow. I will miss the memories, but not the person. The control of the emotion & vocals is real kung-fu skill! I've always admire artist like Celine Dion, or Korean drama OST ballad singers. Their skills are superb.👍 So do pardon my unpolished vocal skill in the song, still improving. 😂

Unfortunately, we didn't win the prize

But we get the 4th place. :) The judges commented that the verse & pre-chorus was good, but the chorus melody is not outstanding enough. It doesn't have the hook. In other words, its not catchy.

Oh I did felt sad for a moment and blaming myself for not helping the team to win. It doesn't help when your team's another song, which also got into the finals, won the Champion. Imagine your whole team is on stage to receive the trophy & prize, and you're left alone at the audience seat. Hahahaha!

Nono, don't get me wrong. I celebrate with them! I really do. Especially its the first Champion winning for my songwriter friend, who had been competing for the past 3 years or so. Its a victory moment for him.

But I couldn't shake off this awkward feeling that I'm feeling in my heart. I kept asking God why am I feeling this way. After sitting down my thoughts with God, He revealed that its because I've been entertaining the thoughts - "you are not good enough", "you are useless to the team", "please do yourself a favor and leave this place"....

Hahahaha! What an accusation from the devil. I laughed because this is exactly the thoughts that always beats me down, whenever I try something new and fail at it. So I have to intentionally tell myself not to hear those discouraging voices, but instead choose to hear from the One from the Highest authority, the One who creates us, the One who knew us inside out - my Heavenly Father.

Actually come to think of it, hey this is a songwriting competition, not a singing competition. Its not entirely about the singing, it is a team effort. I believe I did my best to present my part. If I were to do it again, I will do exactly the same. So I have no regrets. :)

Colossians 3:23-24 New International Version (NIV)
23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

Ahh I sure do feel so much better after crying and spilling my honest thoughts to God. Thank you Jesus! :)

So to everyone out there, you may fail now, but its not a big deal. Let me assure you again.. ITS NOT A BIG DEALLLL!!! Don't throw yourself a pity party pool. Stand up and try again! Don't give up! 😊


Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

you are everywhere! touring artist! keep it up and thanks for sharing your experiences with us :)

p.s. didn't know Winnie Ho was your mentor. so I guess we'll be hearing some Shanghai Jazz from you? ;)

Banner Steem-Music (500x200).jpg

You're welcome! :) Ahhh nola, she was my "temporary" mentor when I joined the Sing China singing competition last year ma. Haha :D

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with @steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Thanks for your curation @appreciator! :)

It actually sounded quite nice. Don't beat yourself up, @michelleloh168! If it is the chorus not outstanding enough, then perhaps it really is the songwriting to be improved, not the singer :) great try and don't feel bad 💟

Yup yup, figured that out too. Thanks for your encouragement @happycrazycon! ❤

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

YOU ARE ENOUGH, @michelleloh168! :) hugs

YOU ARE KIND-HEARTED @heartscally! heheeee❤

You tried your best and everyone else do. Like you said, don't give up Hopeful Bear:)

Yup yup, never giving up. So keep trying and exploring. Thank you Love-a-lot Bear. ❤ (I went through all the bear descriptions, and found Love-A-Lot bear suits you the most. :) )