You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You know what Steem needs to survive?? NEW WITNESSES!!!

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

What has @curie done to support Steem in the past 6 months?

Sort:  

the usual curie things:
discovering new and non-discovered authors,
rewarding under-rewarded ones,
donating steem for community development (supporting various smaller projects and contests)

Never manages their own witness so, IMO, should not have a witness server. The witness servers shouldn't be intended for funding companies. They should be intended for securing the chain production.

Not sure who is currently running the witness.

Not sure what to say, Curie is kind of organization and not one man - I've been part of curie for over 1.5 years, and few months ago I started operating their/our server.
I have been running my own witness for 7 months now, without any glitches, nor missed blocks - and I have fairly knowledge in computational data science (not that much into developing) but can pretty much grasp the codes.

Also it is worth noting that curie's goal is to redistribute all witness earnings back to active steem authors/users, through various donations/contests and curation.

Some people think a witness should fund a business or project and others think it should fund chain security and stop there.

I don't think witness funds need to be given back to people. They are earned by the user securing the chain.

No offense intended with the comment. Curie is a decent service from what I hear, as a non author.

Never manages their own witness so, IMO, should not have a witness server.

lol that is not true. Curie witness operators have always been within Curie. I don't know what makes you think "should not have a witness server", but Curie has been more than capable of running a witness. @svemirac has been doing an amazing job as a witness operator. Moreover, Curie is a community witness.

May I ask why commented under everybody, except for ocd-witness? I think both Curie and Ocd have done and still doing amazing service for the Steem community.

I like your SteemDevs channel. I was going to run an idea by you, moving SteemDev beyond discord. Creating an educational platform for those who want to learn coding on Steem. Something like this - https://emkc.org

I was on mobile and the page load is very bad so I eventually quit. Didn't ignore anyone intentionally. Will go comment on the others I missed.

I am not saying anything negative regarding the user operating the witness server, in fact they are the ones that should be getting the gross pay, in my opinion.

If curie and svemirac switched positions it would make more sense to me, as a developer/programmer.


As far as the project idea we have the looking-for-dev and project-promotion channels on the discord and always have people open to helping out.

This group hooked me up in the early days and I fucking love seeing noobs get paid more than me, because of them. They're a keeper. Cool in my books.

Dissentuous ditto.
My experience has been exactly opposite of that.

They told me corporatespeek or gtfo.
Then accepted delegations that diminished my slice of the pie.

It was a fine howdoyoudo.

BUT! Look at the difference between our work. I took the artist/entertainer route, which is what I wanted to do here, from day one, without knowing who or what would be interested; and you're more political/opinion. They weren't looking for opinions. They were looking for talent in a different field. Kudos to you though, for sticking to your guns instead of chasing that money, looking for the "easy" votes(it wasn't easy).

It triggered my favoritism button,...still not over it.
Still having their subsidy taken from my slice.

Also having Comment Contest which increases user engagement among Steemians

They've supported Lucksacks with Advertisements and Freerolls for the Steem Community via @geekgirl for some time now.

Curates. Legit curation is hard to come by here these days.